A Shot Heard Round the World: The First 3D Printed Gun

Screen shot 2013-05-14 at 7.17.20 PM3D printers are an amazing step forward in technology. I still find it hard to wrap my head around the possibility of printing out my own shoes or a wrench or well, almost anything. The possibilities of a 3D printer leave my jaw wide open and gaping. (How about replacement body parts? A new kidney? They’re working on it.)

however …..

Do we really want to be able to make guns at home on a 3D printer?

The first 3D home-printed gun has been fired, and so that horse is out of the barn. Now anyone with a computer and a 3D printer can make a gun. Many guns. Many undetectable plastic guns.

Again… a 3D printer is amazing. The possibilities for its future are astounding.

But this?

The First 3D-Printed Gun Has Been Fired

Meet The ‘Liberator’: Test-Firing The World’s First Fully 3D-Printed Gun

25 thoughts on “A Shot Heard Round the World: The First 3D Printed Gun

    • I agree, Valerie. Plastic guns are undetectable and once a person has the printer and the program, they could start a gun factory in their garage. The 3D printer is an amazing invention. Leave it to humans to weaponize it.

  1. Daniela says:

    I have not seen about it until I came over to your blog … times are slower down here. I am not sure I like this invention actually -:)!

    • I love the invention of the 3D printer. It is doing amazing things… the possibilities are astounding. But the fact that someone has taken it and made a gun is horrifying. A plastic gun is undetectable and easy to make … a horrid combination.

  2. As always, you are right there explaining in simple terms what’s new in technology. This one scares me though ~ I never even knew there was such a thing as 3-D printing so after I got over that shock, I was blown away (figuratively) by the idea that a gun could be printed and fired.

    • I still have a hard time getting my mind to accept 3D printers, too. They are amazing, and I’ll be sure to do a post about them someday soon. But this gun! Oh, my. Anyone with the program and the printer can now turn their own garage into a gun factory.

    • There are people doing wonderful things with 3D printers (imagine being able to make human organs!) …. but then there is this. Two extremes, astonishing and awful.

  3. My pupils came and told me about this (mainly because it uses the same 3D printer that we have), of course they asked if we could print guns in school. I pointed out that while yes it was possible, it would ever happen. When they asked why, I reminded them of the my school workshop rules: you can make anything you like within reason, but no weapons, electromagnets, or anything powered by petrol!

    But I agree, scary prospect indeed!

    • Here is this wonderful invention…. the 3D printer…. and somehow people manage to go to the ‘dark side’. My goodness. It’s interesting how your students found the prospect exciting. I’m guessing lots of folks will give it try, just because they can.

I'd love to hear what you think!

