The Kindle Keyboard has been Discontinued?

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 8.58.13 PMLast week the world of Kindle users was a-buzz. Little by little reports were coming out that stores were out-of-stock of the Kindle Keyboard model.

And now Amazon is no longer offering the Keyboard Kindle for sale on their website.

Today, if you go to Amazon you will only see only 3 Kindles for sale: the Paperwhite 3G, the Paperwhite (wifi), and the basic Kindle. No Keyboard.

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 8.05.40 PM

This is disappointing news for folks who prefer the physical keys. (I thought I would miss them, but after living with my Paperwhite for many months, I’m no longer lamenting the hard keys.)

However, I am sorry to see the Keyboard model discontinued, because this was the last model available that had speakers. Although I don’t use them very often, I do use them occasionally and I’m sure others have, too.

Is it really gone? There doesn’t seem to be any official confirmation, (yet), but it certainly is looking as though the Kindle Keyboard is history.

Amazon Kindle Keyboard 3G being discontinued?

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

19 thoughts on “The Kindle Keyboard has been Discontinued?

  1. Very interesting. Though I have worn all the letters off of my keys, which makes buying books from the device quite tricky. I’m glad I had already made up my mind to go with the Paperwhite. Now that my case with the built in light no longer works, I’m even more anxious to upgrade! Thanks for the heads up, SC!

  2. I have the ipad, so I’ve never bought the paperweight. I have the first model Kindle. I’d better keep it. Who knows what it will be worth when I’m 100!! I might need money then! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Good for you. I like how Amazon lets the old models still work … not making them obsolete. But, the Paperwhite is awesome. And SO much clearer and sharper than the original. Even if you treat yourself to a new one, keep the other and who knows….. it may pay for your 100 year old needs! ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

