Recycling Your Old Electronics at a Local Store Near You

Screen shot 2013-07-02 at 3.25.36 PMMy town (just like many others) runs a program where they accept old computers, printers, modems, etc. However, they usually do this only once or twice a year, and they charge a fee for each item dropped off.

You can often sell your old personal electronics through programs at places like Gazelle and Amazon. I have already sold iPhones to both companies, and I shared my experiences here and here.

But sometimes these avenues of ‘electronic-discarding’ are simply not enough. What if you have a big old computer tower that you want to toss, and maybe a bulky printer as well, but your local electronic collection date won’t roll around again for months? You want these items out of the house, and you want them out, now! What to do?

I recently learned that both Best Buy and Staples will accept electronics for recycling at anytime, free of charge, and it does not matter where the items were originally purchased. (I wish I knew about this when I was trying to get rid of two great big old computer monitors a while back!)

Screen shot 2013-07-02 at 3.09.02 PMYou can read more about the Best Buy program here and click on their “recycling faqs” for complete information about their program.

Screen shot 2013-07-02 at 3.08.42 PMStaples offers a similar opportunity to get rid of your old electronics.
You can read about their free technology recycling by clicking here.

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

14 thoughts on “Recycling Your Old Electronics at a Local Store Near You

  1. We used a program like this near my parents house after mom died. My son in law filled his van with dad’s collection of computer parts — monitors, keyboards, towers with motherboards, etc. All were recycled free. I just did a Google search and found a place nearby where he could drop them off. What a relief as it was a lot of stuff that dad had bought at flea markets over the years. Great idea for a post! 😀

    • I remember having a really hard time finding a place to go with old monitors and printers. So glad that you easily found a place to go with those computer parts. 🙂

      • In recent years most states have laws that require any store that sells these items must also take them back. Dell arranges for Goodwill to take their computers. Each state has different rules, so it pays to search online.

    • Earth911 is a great resource, I agree! We have a wonderful recycling program in my city, but every once in a while I have something to discard that is not accepted by them. An online search often solves the problem. Thanks for sharing this website, here. 🙂

  2. Here, in the third world, these old machines are still in demand by people from poorer communities. One night, I put an old CPU next to my car in the garage, meaning to take it to the recycle bin for old electronics at my work the next day, and within half an hour it had been adopted by a new, loving owner.

    • That is the BEST way to recycle, by far. What we don’t need/want anymore is often something that would be treasured by another. If those two people can be connected …. excellent! I’m glad your CPU found a good home. 🙂

    • I was excited to learn that these stores take these electronics to recycle, because sometimes I simply don’t want to wait (or spend the $) for the county program. I guess I’m a little (lot) impatient sometimes. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

