How to Share a Contact from your iPhone in a Message or Email

Screen shot 2013-07-07 at 12.32.12 PMThe other day I was asked to share a phone number that I had in my contacts. Since this is not something I do often, I did what I thought I’d have to do…. I brought up the contact, gazed at the number trying to commit it to memory, and then typed it into an instant message. (I was hesitant to hold it and ‘copy’ it, because that same touch … just a bit briefer…. would automatically call the person in question.)

There is actually a much easier way to share contacts on your iPhone. (This method will share all the information you have added to this contact’s page, so be cautioned that all the info goes … not just the phone number).

Here is how to share a contact on your iPhone:

Tap on Contacts.

Tap on the contact that you want to share.

Scroll all the way to the bottom, and tap on the “Share Contact” button.

Photo Skitch Document-15

Select “message” or “email”, depending on how you wish to share the information.

Photo Skitch Document-14

Depending on which you selected, an email or a message will pop up with a contact file attached to it. Just enter the name of the person you want to receive it (in the “to” field).

Tap “send” and the information is on its way.

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

2 thoughts on “How to Share a Contact from your iPhone in a Message or Email

  1. That is quite a useful tip, can you also use it to share your contact details with someone? (I am assuming that as you are in your contacts folder, this would be just like sharing someone else’s details!)

  2. Great, easy tip, SC. Thanks for sharing it. I’ve never had to do this, so have never even looked it over, but now I know it’s simple and fast.

I'd love to hear what you think!

