Running? Walking? RunKeeper Helps You Keep Track of your Treks

Screen shot 2013-08-26 at 8.21.18 PMI’m not a runner. Never was. Never will be. But I like to walk, and to my delight, this well-reviewed “Runner’s App” is also exceptionally wonderful for a casual walker like me.

Simply tap “start” to …yes… start the app. Put the iPhone in your pocket and walk on (or run, if you are so inclined).

5 minutes later, a robot voice will tell you that you have been walking (running) for 5 minutes, and let you know how far you have gone, and what your speed is.

(You can tinker with the settings and have this voice share your information at many other time intervals. 5 minutes is the default, and I find that to be just about perfect.)

When you are done walking/running, you stop the app and delight in all kinds of information. Your average speed, of course, and the total time, the date, etc… But the thing that I really love is the MAP that you generate with your walk/run, courtesy of the GPS in your phone.

Here is the map that this app generated for me as I ended a quick walk this morning. Notice that I was walking on park paths so you only see my walk against a background of blank space, but if I walked in the neighborhood, you would see each and every street that was strolled upon (or run on). I loved getting the one-mile notification on the map. πŸ™‚

Photo Skitch Document

Other features make this app even richer. For the average user, the free version is probably sufficient, but there are opportunities within the app to ramp up the features even further (freemium style). I will not be buying a thing. I’m happy just the way it is.

RunKeeper is free in the iTunes store

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

21 thoughts on “Running? Walking? RunKeeper Helps You Keep Track of your Treks

  1. I like to walk, too, SC, though it has been far too hot for me in the last 4 months. (We are still getting temps in the 100 degree range!) Running is about the worst thing you can do for your joints, especially the knees, so I stick to walking, but I haven’t liked any of the earlier apps I found for distance, etc. This one looks perfect. Mark jogs at night, at times, so I’ll share it with him, too. Thanks for looking out for us! Once again, you’ve found something great to share. From your chair. πŸ˜†

    • 100 degrees? Once the temp hits 85, there is no walking for me. The cooler the better. My favorite walking weather is the Fall… cool and crisp with bright colored leaves. I think you’ll enjoy the app, and Mark, too…… when it’s cooler! πŸ™‚

      • My favorite ANYTHING weather is the fall! I love a crisp fall day better than rocky road ice cream! πŸ™‚ Today, it has cooled all the way down to 93, due to a heavily overcast sky. But I’m still not going walking! Maybe next month. The good news is, I can walk all winter. It’s perfect. Never gets too cold. No snow. No ice. Lovely walking weather. And I’ll be taking this app with me. I’ve already downloaded it. Thanks again!

    • The app is a lot of fun… and very motivating. I have tried other similar apps, but so far this is my favorite. I agree with you, you would need a pretty big pocket for your iPad ! πŸ˜†

  2. I like these kind of application…I think I tried RunKeeper. One thing I do not enjoy is the fact that, like facebook, the application wans me to share my walks (acccess to e-mail, and everthing else…Well a little to much to ask for so much transparency from my part! but yes, a grea application! πŸ™‚

    • I never joined Facebook. I keep thinking I “should”, but as of now… it is too spooky for me. It seems to have tentacles everywhere! This app asked for my email, but I didn’t mind that. Actually, when I came home from my last walk, there was an email congratulating me on my walk-speed. That’s ok with me. I suppose that is part of their motivation plan. As for sharing my info with others? I completely agree with you and say No thanks! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for your comment! with this new “share with all the worlds’ folks, and governments alike (AKA Friends πŸ˜‰ ) we have to assume that everything we share takes the burden of getting warrants away: I never trusted the contractual claims made by the any company that would stand by their members…I was surprised to find that very few actually did, but when it comes to it none would be able to refuse! They chose the pass of minimum resistance, we need them and there is nothing we a do about it, not in real time, not even in years of lawsuits and inquiries.
        Anyway this share everything with everybody is the definition of the “generation share: I came up with last week, and we have Facebook to thank for: we have been again treated like kindergartners telling teachers everything that crosses out minds (for their permanent records!) πŸ™‚

  3. I use MapMyRun, it used to be really nice, but as usual when they get popular they start cutting the freebies and leaving the most basic tolls, often useless for the regular users.
    I’ll give this one a try because I’m not paying for the upgrades on MapMyRun.

    • I agree with your frustration. I really do hate this new way the developers are charging for features. I would prefer to buy a complete app. Done and done. grrrrrr

  4. Trudi says:

    Haven’t tried this one, but I’m addicted to Map My Walk! The stats they provide are excellent and there’s that map of your routes, too. I’ve walked 526 miles since last October! Hope to make it an even 600.

    • 600 miles??? wowee. Did you set that as a goal when you began? You must have some days with some amazing mileage. I never have looked at Map My Walk, but you know I’ll go take a look as soon as I hit the ‘reply’ button. πŸ™‚

  5. I still run but at a slower pace these days. It would be interesting to track my miles but I guess I am too old-fashioned for an app like this one. I prefer to listen to National Public Radio. Husband would like it!

  6. I hate running, I hate exercise. What is wrong with me? LOL, everyone exercises and the only real exercise I get is lifting my fork to my mouth and typing on the keyboard and cleaning and taking care of Al

    • ha! You are so funny. Lifting the fork is probably my favorite exercise too. But that is why I like apps like this, because they are motivating and make me do something I might not ordinarily do. πŸ™‚

    • You can’t use an iTunes (Apple) app on an Android, BUT …. if you go to your Android app store, you will probably find this app there, too. I looked on the Amazon Android store and saw it there, so give a look wherever you buy apps for your phone. I think it’s great fun to “see” where you’ve been! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for getting back to me so quickly! I will go check my Android app store now to see if it’s there.
        I walk every day round our lake and this app will keep me motivated!

I'd love to hear what you think!

