Amazon Announces New Paperwhite

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 3.53.37 PMLooks like the month of September is going to be the month full of new stuff. Apple will be announcing their new phone, the new OS for the iPhone and iPad will be released (with LOTS of new stuff for us to learn :shock:) , and now Amazon has announced a new Paperwhite.

Honestly, I think my Paperwhite is just about perfect and at this point I have no plans to upgrade. I use it every day (a lot) and I never find myself wishing for this or that on the device. So,I can’t even imagine the improvements. But improvements are promised, as Jeff Bezos has outlined in his letter that was posted on Amazon’s opening page, today:

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 3.20.07 PM

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 3.20.26 PM

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 3.20.45 PM

The improvements promised include a better processor, sharper fonts, a better light, improved touch and other features:

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 3.58.57 PM

The new Paperwhite is available now for preorder, and Amazon says they will start shipping on September 30.

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

11 thoughts on “Amazon Announces New Paperwhite

  1. I won’t be able to upgrade any time soon, having just gotten my Paperwhite a few weeks ago, but I can see a couple things I’d love. The Goodreads integration would be fabulous. I use Goodreads all the time, and now I’m listed as an “official” Goodreads author, so I can see where that could be really nice. Skipping chapters without losing your place would be cool, too, especially with reference books where you want to look back and forth, sometimes. Thanks for the alert! Maybe by my birthday next year, I’ll be ready to move on up! 🙂

  2. Unless they just want to swap paperwhite for paperwhite, then I am quite happy with mine. I have had no problems with it. Well, except trying to get the images to show on books that I have put on there myself. But other than that, it’s as perfect as I want it

    • I feel exactly the same way, Pat. Actually, this is one of the really great things about Kindles. They don’t become obsolete. I have a friend reading on the 2nd generation, white Kindle, and it’s chugging along just fine. 🙂

  3. It may be time for me to order – almost. I still have generation 1! I use my iPad, my iPhone and my computer when necessary, but my favorite reader is still my favorite. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

