Attention WordPress Bloggers: Don’t forget to link your gravatar

Screen shot 2013-09-15 at 5.27.57 PMIngrid, of Live Laugh RV, brought up an issue the other day that is important for all of us WordPress bloggers.

Perhaps you have had the same problem? Ingrid remarked that she will often click on a gravatar in order to visit that person’s blog. This should bring you to the gravatar’s profile page with links to the associated blog(s). However, sometimes this clicking brings her to the profile page with no links. No way to find the blog of the person who left the “like” or who otherwise piqued your interest with their gravatar.

So, WordPress bloggers … make sure that you are linked. Otherwise you may be missing many visitors who have tried but failed to find your blog.

To check and see, I suggest you leave a like on someone’s page, then click on your own gravatar and see what you see. Hopefully, when you originally set it up, you added the appropriate links. But, if you see no links at all, then you know that any clicks on your gravatar would be a dead end for the clicker.

If you are indeed a dead-end, here is a screenshot of the directions for adding links to your gravatar:

Screen shot 2013-09-15 at 4.28.14 PM

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

39 thoughts on “Attention WordPress Bloggers: Don’t forget to link your gravatar

  1. Thanks for reminding us, SC. Mine was already linked to both of my blogs (I checked to be sure), but I hadn’t thought about putting a link up for my new book. Now that’s done, as well. Yay! You are so good to us! πŸ™‚

    • You’re right… I remember choosing my gravatar quickly and without thought because I really didn’t understand it … and now I’m kind of sorry I didn’t pay more attention!

  2. Such a great post! Thank you for reminding about the importance of this. One thing I have tried with some success when a Gravatar has no links is to delete all but the last section in the address bar and add ‘.wordpress.com’ behind it. I have sometimes found people’s blogs that way… if they’ve used the same name in Gravatar as they have on their WordPress blog. But still…. let’s include links people! After all half the fun of blogging is welcoming new readers. Thanks again for this terrific post.

  3. I know this is an old post, but I just wrote a piece about Gravatars today, and Ralph sent me a post with this link in it. I’m also writing a book, and I’d like to quote some of this post in it. Would that work for you?

I'd love to hear what you think!

