Reviews Have Changed the Way We Shop

Screen shot 2013-09-17 at 7.26.42 AMIt wasn’t that long ago that when we went shopping for a new appliance, for example, we would make our choice because of the recommendation of a friend or the claims on the side of the box where the product-maker tries to tell you why their wachamacallit is the best.

But technology has certainly changed all that!

Everyone I know now thoroughly researches every major purchase before handing over the cash and/or credit card.

You don’t have to plan in advance, either. As you shop in a store, you can check the reviews for any possible purchase right from your smartphone.

And it’s not just the big things anymore. While shopping with my daughter-in-law, she used her phone to carefully check reviews before buying a hair product, and eliminated several items that she might have otherwise selected.

Truthfully I think I now look at reviews for almost everything I buy. It makes me much more confident about my purchase. If a product has a good number of reviews, you can benefit from the collective wisdom of others and make a great choice.

I not only look at reviews for things I buy, but also for things I do. Traveling has been made so much better by benefiting from the experience of others. I thank all those who take the time to write those reviews!

Do you use reviews? Do you write them?

Of course sometimes some people write worthless reviews. This doesn’t matter in the big picture because happily most people take the responsibility seriously.

Occasionally Amazon highlights some of these ‘off the track’ reviews ….

Here are a few of the funniest……

Screen shot 2013-09-17 at 6.32.15 AM

Screen shot 2013-09-17 at 6.32.33 AM

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

10 thoughts on “Reviews Have Changed the Way We Shop

  1. I read reviews, too. Not obsessively, but I do read them, especially before anything that’s going to be a big investment. And for buying books. I don’t always listen to those. I’ve learned how to weed through them to get the info that I’m looking for. (If a person gives a bad review and leaves a reason for it, sometimes what they hate might be just what I’m looking for.) I absolutely love the examples you gave above. Especially the King of Switzerland one. *snort*

  2. Hilarious reviews!! 😉
    I use reviews to help me make shopping decisions -mostly for larger purchases.
    If I really like or really dislike something I’ll write a review, too.
    Or, if I read a book written by one of my blogging friends I make the effort to review it.

    • I really appreciate reviews and I silently thank those who take the time to do it. And so … here is my opportunity to thank someone who reviews “in person”! Thank you! The more we can learn about anything, the better, so thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on things by leaving reviews. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

