iOS 7 : One Further Note of Caution

Screen shot 2013-09-19 at 7.20.42 AMiOS 7 was released yesterday. And, as promised, I spent quite a bit of time trolling tech communities to see how things were going.

No surprise that the servers were swamped and LOTS of people reported failures and had to try over and over and over again to get things working.

Some reported flawless upgrades, but (of course) the boards were flooded with the distraught-masses as they sought solace and a place to vent their frustration. I’m sure that the many people who had easy upgrades didn’t bother to report their success.

I will do the download sometime over the next few days. Honestly, if I didn’t have this blog I would probably wait longer … maybe even until the first correction update comes out where they start fixing all the inevitable bugs.

But I came upon special advice that I think is really important. I am going to paste it (below). I read similar reports from several other credible sources. Basically it suggests not updating at all if you have an iPhone 4 or 4S. I am going to recommend ‘no update’ to several friends and family members with the model 4 phones. No need …. and no reason to invite problems to a phone that is working perfectly.

Here is a snippet from an article on CNN about this, with a link to the full article below.

Just because your device is compatible doesn’t mean it should be upgraded right away. Once you update your device to iOS 7, there is no going back to iOS 6 or whichever earlier iOS you were running. (Yes, there are unofficial ways to downgrade, but these are not recommended for regular iPhone and iPad users.)

If you are not in a rush, wait a few weeks or months until Apple releases the first updated version of iOS 7. The early releases of the operation system can include bugs that should be addressed with subsequent iOS 7 updates. Let other eager people spend the next few weeks finding and reporting these issues so you don’t have to deal with them.

Older devices can experience frustrating performance issues when upgraded to a new OS. The iOS 7 software was designed specifically for the hardware that’s faster than your trusty old iPhone 4. If your device is anything older than the most recent generation, it might suddenly slow down, and battery life can suffer.

This should not be as much of a problem for newer devices, such as the iPhone 5, 4th generation iPad and iPad Mini, or the latest iPod Touch. If you are worried about performance issues, skip the update.

Updating immediately is recommended only for tech-savvy early adopters who are comfortable with the risks.

What iPhone, iPad owners need to know about iOS 7

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

11 thoughts on “iOS 7 : One Further Note of Caution

  1. I did see the CNN article and wondered about it as I have an iPad 2. Already some of my Apps say to upgrade but then they stop because you need ios 7 to use them. I was going to learn Evernote but now it already requires ios7 though if I don’t upgrade ….maybe I will keep the version I downloaded last week. I wish they would just not change our already working products!

  2. Ah-ha! Just as my instincts were saying. I’m going to wait. I have a 4S (as you helped me remember), and so far it is working fine. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. (Always seemed like a good motto to me.) Waiting and watching, here! Thanks, SC! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

