iOS 7 latest update: Fixes some Bugs and Issues

Screen shot 2013-10-24 at 8.38.15 AMYou can always expect some problems when a new operating system is released, and it’s no surprise that iOS 7 has its share, too.

A new update has arrived and it is numbered: iOS 7.0.3

This is the third update since the release of iOS 7, hence the “.3”.

Usually these little releases don’t mean a lot to me, but this one actually addresses some things that I have noticed.

Screen shot 2013-10-24 at 8.30.45 AMOne bug that frustrated me was in iMessage. That is when you are sending a text to another iOS device. (For new users: sending a message to another iOS device over wifi is free and not part of your paid texting package. You probably notice that some texts you send are blue and others are green. The blue ones are the iMessage (free) texts. )

I noticed that in iOS 7 some of my iMessage texts were getting ‘stuck’ and wouldn’t send. I solved the issue by turning off iMessage in settings, but of course that is not a fix, just a temporary work around. Apparently this bug will be fixed with this new update.

Another thing coming with the new update is a “bring-back”. In iOS 6, when you used the Spotlight Search, you had the option (in addition to searching your phone) to search Wiki or Safari. One of this blog’s readers, Marc, brought to my attention that this ability was gone, poof!, in iOS 7. Well, apparently there must have been an outcry, because it’s coming back. πŸ™‚

The update in its entirety:

Screen shot 2013-10-24 at 8.34.09 AM

However …. my Golden Rule is never to hurry. I have read quite a few accounts of people who have already applied the update, and as usual, there are issues. Of course I will update, but I’ll probably wait a few days to be sure it’s stable.

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

10 thoughts on “iOS 7 latest update: Fixes some Bugs and Issues

  1. Al says:

    Hmmm … I should have read the rest of your post before selecting to update πŸ˜† I was hoping they would fix the battery seepage fixage thingage.

    I may use Siri again then. I haven’t used it since I upgraded to 7 and it was like a bad quality computer game speaking through a fish pond filled with slime. Will keep you posted on any issues

  2. Brad says:

    I was offered the update and ran it effectively last night. The most important and most exciting improvement is that all of the swishing and sweeping and zooming of the icons no longer exists when you Reduce Motion (through Settings, General, Accessibility, Reduce Motion). What a relief!

I'd love to hear what you think!

