Keep Your Receipts in Order with CamScanner

Screen shot 2013-11-19 at 8.08.38 AMOrganization means a lot to me. I like to know where I can find something if I need it. And household paperwork is no exception.

For years I’ve kept a “receipt drawer.” This is the place I stash receipts for (almost) everything I buy. Of course over time it gets a little unwieldy and the mish-mash of paper is a bear to sort through. Last month I did a purge and it took me most of the day. By the time I reached the bottom of the drawer (and receipts dating back YEARS), my shredder was objecting with moans and groans.

But since I’ve found CamScanner, I’m gradually changing my stashing-habit. With this app, I can take a quick picture of my receipt and it will be sorted, saved and easily available if I need it.

All you do it take a photo of your receipt (through the app) and it will automatically crop and enhance it. Really, truly … the receipts look great. Clear and sharp.

You can label them, and therefore easily retrieve them. Excellent document management.

Personally I only use this for bigger purchases. I mean, if we buy an appliance of some sort, I use this to save the receipt. I don’t scan receipts for odds and ends daily stuff unless I suspect that I may have some kind of issue with it. This way the app doesn’t get overwhelmed like that drawer of mine. Within the app the receipts are sorted, unlike the drawer where they are merely squashed. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

CamScanner has great reviews and has won many awards.

Now …. here comes the “BUT” …..

I have the FREE version. I use it regularly and I’m very happy with the function it gives me. There are ads of course, but they are not terribly intrusive.

The PAID version gives you a lot more functionality, but the price is steep. Really steep. And not even a one-time price, but an on-going high subscription price of $5 a month or $50 a year. To me it makes it prohibitive for the average person. I’m sticking to FREE, and so far, so good.

That said …. there are those who love it, regardless of the expense. It is an excellent document-digitizer, and the following article explains fully how wonderful it can be. If you are truly dedicated to scanning all the documents in your life, then perhaps the price would suit you afterall.

This article explains it well: CamScanner Turns Any Smartphone Into a Scanner and Document Management System

But for me .. for now … I just use the free version to scan my receipts. Works well for me, and it’s FREE.
CamScanner, for your iPhone or iPad is Free in the iTunes store

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

8 thoughts on “Keep Your Receipts in Order with CamScanner

  1. I suspect the paid version would be quite handy for those with a small, possibly home run, business. But the free version sounds like all I’d need, too. Thanks for sharing this find with us, SC. Heading off to grab it right now!

    • I agree, Marcia. After reading several articles about this app,( like the one I linked to in this post), I think the app developers are really pushing it as a document scanner (not just for receipts). For you and me and our receipt scanning …. the free version is just perfect.

  2. I agree with Paula. You’ve been peeking into my drawers. Some of them don’t even make it to the drawers any more. My purse, table, desk. They’re ubiquitous! Yikes! ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

