New Weather App is now my Favorite for the iPhone: BeWeather

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 7.17.07 AMI’m a bit of a weather geek, I think. I have 6 weather apps on my iPhone, and today I bought another. 😯

(It’s always nice to have a new visual, and when it also works so perfectly, pulls together the info that you want/need, well then, …. yay!)

Former Blackberry users may recognize this, as it was a favorite on that device.

There is a free version, but I quickly upgraded to the full version. (You download the free version, and if you want to upgrade, you are given the opportunity within the app.)

First of all, it looks beautiful. You get to select the screen that you would like to see when you open the app. You can choose a still photo, or an animated scene that matches your weather, or a radar map.

I chose the animated scene and it is stunning. Day’s have light, night is dark. The clouds move, the fog rolls….it’s just plain pretty. These screenshots are still for this blog, but on the iPhone, they are active and moving.

photo.PNG-5

photo.PNG-3

photo.PNG

It is very easy to use, and full of information. Slide the screen left or right to view your other locations. If the location has a severe alert, a red icon appears at the bottom of the screen. A tap on that red triangle brings up the special news that is relevant to your area. Slide the screen UP to see both an hourly forecast and a 7 day forecast. Tap any hour and see the forecast by the minute. Touch the radar symbol at the bottom of the screen to see your local radar.

photo.PNG-4

And see those three little dots on the bottom right? Tap that to see a boatload of webcams in the area.

photo.PNG-6

It’s intuitive and stunning, and is now my go-to weather app.

The free version will limit your options within the app. You will only have the ability to save 2 locations, you won’t get the ‘minute’ forecast and the temp badge will not appear on your home screen. Other options are missing as well. I’m delighted with the upgrade, as the extra features make it just plain wonderful, but the free version is still worth the download.

BeWeather for your iPhone is FREE in the iTunes store. The upgrade is $2.99. You must have iOS7 on your iPhone to run this app.

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

25 thoughts on “New Weather App is now my Favorite for the iPhone: BeWeather

  1. I am going to download as soon as I finish my blog commenting.. πŸ™‚ I’m a weather geek too and so is the Husband! Cool! I just love your blog.. πŸ˜€ Thank you for all you do here to help those of us you are totally befuddled by our iStuff!

  2. I was doing great until I got to the part about needing iOS7. Haven’t upgraded yet, and am afraid to, really. It messes with my “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it,” mindset. πŸ™‚ Sure looks like a nice app, though. I will remember it for when and if I get around to upgrading my phone, or have to get a new one. Thanks, SC!

  3. It didn’t sound all that great until i got to the webcam part. We get a lot of snow here, but depth varies pretty significantly in the metro area. It Would be good to see what it’s like outside this suburb.

  4. Rich Cooper says:

    There is no free version shown in the Apple App Store. Just the 2.99 version.

    Rich Have a nice day

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • The link at the bottom of this post should take you to the free version. It is really the $2.99 version with many of the features locked and inaccessible. You have to pay to get everything, but you can use some of the app for free. πŸ™‚

  5. G’day just found you when you commented on my blog…. This sounds awesome. We have just bought an Ipad air (like yesterday…)and live in Australia. Very nervous about the whole app thing… Do you think it would work on an Ipad?

    • So glad you’re here! Welcome. Congrats on your new iPad! You will LOVE it. Really, truly. You have so much to discover. Yes, this weather app will work on it, HOWEVER, it is not designed to work on an iPad, so it won’t look the best. But it will work. Now …. about your nerves and apps. I understand your apprehension completely. But apps are really where all the fun is. There are apps for EVERYTHING. Beautiful apps to help with hobbies like cooking or gardening, apps for games like crosswords and so many other interesting challenges, apps to help you travel, keep an eye on the weather, read books, and so on and on and on…. Downloading an app and using it is really easy. I’ll be happy to help you, no worries!! πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

