A View of Technology of the Future (2001) from 1967

Walter Cronkite was the host of a show called “The 21st Century” back in the sixties.

In 1967, he hosted a program that looked at the home of the future, and how technology would be integrated into all aspects of the house.

It’s fun to see as he takes you through the home office, the kitchen and the living room. The tech is all big and clunky with lots of buttons and knobs. But some predictions are quite accurate.

Remember …. this is 1967 looking ahead to 2001.

The Home Office of the Future (2001).

The Kitchen of the Future (2001) … not quite as accurate. Although the plates idea might still be coming as those 3D printers evolve!

The Living Room of the Future (2001). He was right. Big TV, big sound. But NOT the big ‘console’. Not all those buttons and knobs. They didn’t imagine controlling these things with a gadget that fits in the palm of your hand.

And then there are those windows! Do they exist? Were they ever invented? I kind of like those.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

13 thoughts on “A View of Technology of the Future (2001) from 1967

  1. Al says:

    I’ve put a post on my blog that you and some of your readers may find helpful. It’s to do with the almighty screw-up that Apple have caused with the new iTunes and how you can fix it so that it will work again. It’s here

    • Thanks, Al! I haven’t had this problem, but it is good to know that you have found the fix if it does turn out to be an issue for me or any of my readers. I hate it when things go wrong! 😯

  2. I remember these (scary!!!!). I, also, remember the first time I heard the term “information super highway” on Good Morning America many many years ago and not exactly understanding the relevance of such info!!! Now, ‘puters/smart phones, etc, ‘litter’ my/our homes and we canNOT live w/o them!!!! Love it!!!!!!!

    • I remember the show “The 21st Century” …. When Walter Cronkite filmed these views of the future I was 17. ouch!! And I agree … I could not live without my smart phone, anymore. It is vital!! 🙂

  3. I remember the 1960’s and how nervous the man in the street was about the then emerging technology. So much has changed in 45 years, some good some bad. Wonder what the next 45 will bring. I will then be 117 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

