More Snow = Binge Watching

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 8.07.36 AMOur local headline summed up the impending storm: “Midweek storm? The chances just went from slim to Doomsday”

Doomsday? Here we snow again. Of course, with piles of snow lining the streets already, there is no place to even put this snow. Oh, well. Nothing to do but join the masses at the grocery stores, help them strip the shelves and then settle in for some binge-watching.

The term “binge-watching” exploded in 2013. According to Wikipedia: Binge-watching, also called binge-viewing, is the practice of watching television for longer time spans than usual, usually of a single television show. Binge-watching as an observed cultural phenomenon has become popular with the rise of online media services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime with which the viewer can watch television shows and movies on-demand

With ‘doomsday’ snow in the forecast, we’ll be binge-watching for sure. But what to choose?

Since this has become such a popular phenomenon, it has gotten much attention on the internet.

Newsday recently made a list of the 45 best shows to binge watch.

Huffington Post supplies 8 Binge-worthy TV Shows You’ve (Probably) Never Heard of to Get You Through the Blizzard. (this list includes Absolutely Fabulous. One of my all time favorite guilty pleasures. πŸ™‚ )

The New York Post offers Your definitive guide to binge-watching TV

I just noticed that Amazon Prime Instant Video is offering the entire first season of “The Americans”. I heard that this series is worth watching, so that is my personal binge watching plan.

That is …as long as the power stays on. 😯

Do you have any favorites to share? Have you binge-watched? All suggestions welcome!!!

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

14 thoughts on “More Snow = Binge Watching

  1. Since we hardly watch any TV, this doesn’t seem to apply. Reading, quilting and other hobbies seem to preclude such an activity (all, except the reading, dependent on power availability!). We rarely watch movies, staying with the mainline/free TV shows: NCIS (and LA), Ms Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Death in Paradise and other PBS shows. The airwaves have little substance to draw us in. Sorry for your “Doomsday” forecast!!! Stay safe……………………..

  2. I’ve almost given up on TV in recent years. Back in the day there were several comedies I never missed (Frasier, Seinfeld) and one or two dramas, like ER. But I find most of the prime time shows today pretty boring, I’m afraid, and I am so busy writing, etc, that I seldom turn the TV on at night at all…EXCEPT, right now! I’m binge watching the Olympics!! That’s the ONLY sports I enjoy, and I never miss them. However, even having said that, I find I’m sitting at the computer with one ear tuned, so I can run in and watch for a few minutes when my favorite events are on. So even my beloved Olympics are not getting my Bingeful attention! πŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoy your chosen series! But mostly, I hope your power stays on and you stay WARM. Fingers crossed!!! And be careful out there! No slipping on the ice!

  3. My binge watching is a Anne of Green Gables, Little House on the Prairie and Centennial marathons, now with DVR I also get caught up on shows I had recorded. I do not watch much tv – put I love my DVD’s of old shows and movies while sewing. I also binge read – πŸ™‚

  4. We got Chromecast and I have to admit that we got pretty hooked with some series on Netflix and HBO Go. My husband likes The Wire – not my cup of tea – be together we’re binge watching Grey’s Anatomy ( I know – it’s pathetic πŸ˜‰ The West Wing and House of Cards. Can’t wait for the second season to go online this Friday!

    • I agree with you about the Wire. My husband and my sons all loved it…. not my kind of enjoyment. But yes, I have binged on Grey’s Anatomy. And the West Wing??? One of my all time favorites!! House of Cards starts Friday? We’re there. πŸ™‚

  5. I think I binge-watched just about every episode of Futurama that had been made at the time once. The year swine flu first made its appearance my son, grandson and I took a cruise….and spent the last couple days on the way home in the cabin laying around in our beds watching one Futurama episode after another because he had brought the DVD’s of those and we had not much else to do as we were all sick with the swine flu.

I'd love to hear what you think!

