How Do I …… ?? Ask Wikihow

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 9.37.44 AM
Wikihow will teach you how to do just about anything.

You can visit Wikihow on the internet (wikihow).

Their tagline is “learn how to do anything” and you can get an idea of the variety of “how tos” by looking at this screenshot of their webpage:

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 7.06.28 PM

I have used the website many times, but recently I downloaded their free app. It has been hailed as “always helpful” (USA Today) and “indispensable” (MacWorld).

I’ve listed here a few of the random guides that I saw when I opened the app:

How to slice a kiwi.

How to tie a scarf.

How to stay warm in cold weather.

How to make Beignets.

How to make a simple musical instrument.

How to dry apples.

How to freeze basil.

How to read lips.

How to tell scary stories.

How to build a cat climber.

How to set up indoor photography lights.

How to wash a rabbit. < ????????
(yes. really. If you need to wash a rabbit, this app will help you do it.) ๐Ÿ˜†

You can search for how to do a specific task. I asked about changing a stuck light bulb, and you can see I was given many, many choices (and this is just the tip of the iceberg!)

Attachment-1-4

In addition to giving you access to over 150,000 how-to guides, the app also gives you a Survival guide, which is a collection of emergency-situation how-tos. While you need internet access to see most of the guides in this app, the Survival Guide is available off-line. I tested this by putting my iPad into airplane mode, and yes, the emergency section was still fully accessible.

Attachment-1-3

The app is simple to use, and quite nice to look at. Directions to do things are presented step by step, and sometimes include video.

This is useful when you NEED to know something, but it is also fun to look through at random. You never know what you might find. (now I have to go and find a rabbit in need of a bath so that I can wash it. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Wikihow for the iPhone and iPad is FREE in the iTunes store.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

15 thoughts on “How Do I …… ?? Ask Wikihow

    • Ah… that’s the key!!! Remembering to look! I will frequently google things I need to know, but I’ll admit to not going directly to wikihow. (although, googling a question frequently BRINGS me to wikihow).

      • barb19 says:

        I clicked on your link for Wikihow FB page, so hopefully if it’s in my face, I will remember to use it….thanks!

  1. Luc says:

    Too bad the app requires iOS 7. The site will be useful. It’s great that the emergency info is available off-line for those who can use it.

  2. I don’t have to go far to find a rabbit. My stepdaughter has a huge bunny, along with a bunch of other critters. Thanks, SC. I’m going to check it out and ship it off. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I'd love to hear what you think!

