I am one of the 4%

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 7.50.56 PMEarlier this year Pew research released the results of several studies regarding the habits of the reading public.

As someone who reads “e-books only” I was curious to see how common (or not) this has become. According to the research, this puts me in a small group of just 4%. Most people who read e-books also read print books.

But me? I stand firmly in that 4%. My eyes prefer the adjustable fonts, the adjustable light, the ease of getting, saving and carrying books. I’ve always been a big reader, but the e-reader (Kindle) simply makes reading even better.

However, when it comes to e-reading in general, once you take away the “exclusive”, the numbers climb. 28% of adults have read an e-book in the past year, and this number continues to rise.

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 6.46.43 AM

Half of all the adults in America own either a tablet or an e-reader, and coupled with the stats below, this makes me wonder:
…. if 32% of people own an e-reader, but only 28% have read an e-book, can we assume that about 4% own e-readers that are just collecting dust? (not to be confused with the 4% of us who are e-readers-only!)

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 6.46.58 AM

The full article: E-Reading Rises as Device Ownership Jumps
Three in ten adults read an e-book last year; half own a tablet or e-reader

Where do you fit? E-reader only? E-reader + print books? or do you (gasp) have an e-reader just languishing at the bottom of a drawer?

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

22 thoughts on “I am one of the 4%

  1. i prefer to read old-fashioned books, as they are easier to loan and share with other family members. However, I am reading more and more on my iPad. I don’t see the point in buying a separate tablet just for books, although I have taken your counsel regarding the Kindle paperwhite seriously. I have so many electronic gadgets already……

    • ha! I know what you mean about all the electronic gadgets!! I think that if you are a daytime reader (but not in sunlight) a tablet is just fine. But reading in bed, at night, in a dark room, the dim light of the paperwhite is just perfect. So I guess it all depends on your reading habits…. As far as the loaning thing goes, I do agree. It is a pain (a downside) with e-books.

  2. Kathy Waller says:

    I read both, but I’m becoming hooked on how easy the Kindle is to hold. And this is embarrassing to admit, but I love the way I can click and then watch a new title show up on the screen. I’m old enough not to be impressed by that, but…

  3. Kathy, I am currently in bed (it’s 10.15pm Australian time). Never in my wildest dreams would I ever have imagined myself with an iPad checking out my favourite blogs, yet here I am. Yes, it’s incredibly versatile and offers me the ability to read easily. Who knows, I may even end up downloading books to read…! 😉
    I do have Kindle on my PC, yet don’t enjoy reading in this fashion during the day… though, the iPad has been a great boon for me – it’s certainly surprising me.
    I don’t doubt the ever increasing stats you noted; I’m sure they must continue to increase as we engage the new technologies, and allow ourselves the pleasures they present. 🙂

  4. I am an e-reader. Traveling abroad and now in an RV makes this form of reading very convenient. Although I have always loved the feel of a good book in my hands, our lifestyle does not bode well for hauling a huge library around, given the number of books we consume.

  5. I am trying to think of the last print book I bought. It has been a long time. There are still print books I want to buy but very and I mean very few. I love that I do not have a ton of books collecting dust in the house and have to choose what to keep or give away if we move. I love my Paperwhite for reading at night and early in the morning. Ordering a book and having it in a second is such a wonder thing.. 🙂

  6. Ever since I ‘met’ you via our blogs, I have become an e-reader as well. 2012 I bought a kindle directly as a result of all of your posts, your advice and your priceless interesting facts and I haven’t looked back. It is one of my favorite gifts that I gave to myself! I am 99% e-reader with only buying paper books when I can’t get them on kindle which is rare. Thanks for all that you do! ♥

    • Thank you for your so-very kind words. I’m so glad that I met you, too!! I am delighted that you love your Paperwhite. 🙂 Thanks for being such a wonderful blog-friend.

  7. Interesting.

    I read both, mostly because I don’t have a lot of my old favourites on my Kindle because I can’t afford them but also because, when the Apocalypse comes and there’s no electricity, I want to be able to read my old favourites by candlelight 😀

  8. Interesting…
    I have a Kindle, but have only read a handful of books on it. There’s nothing like the feel of a real book in my hands. I read a couple of books per month, and can’t imagine not having the ‘real deal’ in my hands. (If I traveled a lot for work, I would definitely see the advantage of an e-reader when on the go, however.)

I'd love to hear what you think!

