Get Great Deals Wherever-you-are with RetailMeNot Coupons

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 6.15.16 AMI almost deleted this app. Why? It scared me.

But now, the very thing that scared me I think is pretty darn awesome.

Let me back up a bit……

RetailMeNot is a coupon app. Deals deals deals. I have another coupon app that I used often (Sherpa) but gradually RetailMeNot has become my one-and-only.

No sign in or sign up required. Just use your phone to show the coupon in a brick and mortar store and get your discount.

no scissors required

no scissors required

What makes this app different (and a tad scary to me) is that it will alert you to the deals nearby wherever-you-are! Every time I arrive in a shopping area my iPhone makes a cash-register sound, letting me know that coupons are available to save $ in the stores nearby.

Now … honestly …. that cash register sound is startling. I don’t like it. I almost deleted the app because of it.

However, I have had two experiences where money-saving coupons were discovered and used because of the alert. In addition to that, I found myself in need of a restaurant coupon and after checking several other sources from my phone to no avail, RetailMeNot gave me a coupon that saved 50% off of one of the meals. Hurray for this app!

So I’ve made my peace with this app and it’s noisy noise. It has saved me $ several times. I find that I really like being alerted when there are deals nearby (you could turn this off), however ….. I do wish I could CHANGE the sound to something less startling (that cash register sound is loud and jarring).

****NOTE: You CAN change the annoying sound. Read about it, here.

RetailMeNot Coupons is FREE in the iTunes store

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

6 thoughts on “Get Great Deals Wherever-you-are with RetailMeNot Coupons

  1. Sigh…….There’s so much “tracking” these apps do. That’s what has me on edge. I’ve turned off the “locator” for the camera shots but the phrase….”you can run but you cannot hide” is very appropriate!!!!!!! Thanks for all the wonderful tips and tricks you send my/our way!!!! Hugs………………………

    • all that tracking!! Yes!! I agree…. creepy, right? When I first got my iPhone, etc, I tried so hard to stay “private”. I think you phrased it perfectly “you can run….. “. I tried. I really did. But they got me. Although I still decline most apps when they ask for permission to know where I am, I gave in on some of them (like this one for example).

  2. That is really cool. I hated cutting coupons, when I was young. This is the perfect way out of that, and not missing any great deals at the same time. Thanks for sharing, Cathy. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

