Oy Vey! My Eyes Failed Me

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 12.39.29 PMSeveral days ago I posted a gushy happy recommendation for the app RetailMeNot.

If you read the post, you saw me ramble on about not being able to turn off the noisy cash-register-like notifications.

Love the app, hate the startling “ka-ching!”.

In a conversation with my dear daughter-in-law, Carmen, she shared her love of RetailMeNot on it’s website. She doesn’t have the app, but expressed her surprise that you couldn’t turn off the sound.

I assured her that you could not, and I thought that was surprising.

So I went and looked again (even though I had looked many times before)…..

Oh my. Oy vey.

It was there all along.

It is CLEARLY marked “mall notifications”.

But what did I see? I saw “MAIL notifications”. Not mall. I saw mail.

Can you say “old eyes”, boys and girls? πŸ™„

Thanks, Carmen, for making me look, again.

Attachment-1-11

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

12 thoughts on “Oy Vey! My Eyes Failed Me

  1. You’re funny. I thought there should be a turn off. Could they possibly force that noise on you? πŸ˜‰ I think not!
    (I sent you an email about a glitch I can’t figure out. Did you get it?)
    😦

  2. In your defense how many times have you come across MALL notifications? it’s easy for the brain to read MAIL notifications, nothing to do with your eye sight!! So much of our reading comprehension is based on assumption. On another note I turn EVERY noise off if I can help it, the one noise I wish I could control is when a device gets plugged in the charger. I don’t know how I did it but at least on my iPad it doesn’t do the DING anymore. All my other devices will make a sound unless I turn off the volume which is just not practical.

    • Aw, thanks. You’re so nice to give me a little wiggle room with my Mall vs Mail mixup. You’re right, “mall notification” is not something you see very often!! I agree … there are so many sounds, you have to stay on top of them or the phone would be dinging and pinging all the time!! Thanks again for your kind words. πŸ™‚

  3. barb19 says:

    Easily done reading “mall” as “mail”. Don’t beat yourself up about it, I bet that word has often been mis-read.

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you. Kind of embarrassing to rant about something and then realize that I just mis-read it. It is an Ooops, never mind, melting into the floor moment …… πŸ™‚ Thanks for your kind support.

I'd love to hear what you think!

