FREE Messaging Anywhere in the World with KakaoTalk Messenger

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 7.30.03 AMOne of the most wonderful things about all of this new technology is the ability to keep in touch so easily with friends and loved ones no matter where in the world they are. Although Skype has made visual chatting a commonplace event, sometimes you just want to share a “hi” or chat on-the-go with texts.

I’ve recently learned of an amazing FREE service that allows you to text anywhere in the world. (On wifi, this is 100% free. On 3G, your usual data charges apply, but I understand that it uses a very small amount of data)

Did I mention … FREE?

And …. that you can also send PHOTOS?

Although it was new to me, it is extremely popular in much of the world. KaKaoTalk has over 130 MILLION users, sending and receiving 3 BILLION messages a day.

When my son and daughter-in-law headed off for their most recent stay in Singapore, they alerted me to this app, KakaoTalk Messenger. They are frequent travelers, with friends and family all over the world, and so they use this service often. It was totally new to me, though, and I approached it with my usual caution.

How could this be? How can you chat with someone anywhere in the world, for free? Last year I traveled to England, Russia and several other places and before I left, I spent a great deal of time, effort and $$$ trying to figure out exactly what I had to BUY to set up my iPhone account to message back to the US. If I had only known then, what I know now…….. 😯

This app is even more robust that what I use it for. Apparently you can also use it for voice calls and group chatting. In my case, I’ve only used it for text and photos, and so I can only speak for that … but it is awesome.

Texting to my kids, halfway around the world, is instant. It’s downright magical. Nothing makes me happier than to see them enjoying themselves and getting to “share” the moment of a particularly delightful new food experience or discovery with some text and a photo.

From Skitch-12

photo.PNG-2

KakaoTalk is also available for Android devices.

In order to text with a person using KakaoTalk, they must have it, too. Both sender and receiver must be using this app.

It was simple to install. If you want to send photos, you must give it access to your photos.

I have not explored the other features of this app, but what I am using is just wonderful.
(Note to blogging friends around the world:
If you get this app, text me! Just let me know your KakaoTalk ID through the “contact me” place on my blog, and we’ll be in touch.
🙂 )

Check Out KakaoTalk, An Insanely Popular South Korean App That Traffics 55 Billion Messages Per Day

CNET ranks KakaoTalk highly

KakaoTalk on Wikipedia

KakaoTalk Messenger is FREE in the iTunes store

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

7 thoughts on “FREE Messaging Anywhere in the World with KakaoTalk Messenger

    • It’s certainly a battle between the messaging apps. I believe that WhatsApp is dominant in the US, but Kakaotalk is used by over 93% of people in Korea and is very strong throughout Asia. Those two and several others are all jockeying to be on top.

      • Al says:

        Sounds like it could be MSN messenger and Yahoo messenger all over again. I remember when the only messenger service was ICQ

  1. masonfam says:

    For iPhone/iPad users wouldn’t iMessage be an equivalent free way to message? For communication with any iOS and Android this sounds great.

    • I believe you’re right … as long as you are in a wifi environment. Traveling internationally can get terribly complicated as for using your phone. I am always wary of racking up horrible charges. And sometimes my iMessage is unreliable …. the “blue” sends as “green”…. to another iPhone. But only …. Sometimes. Argh!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

