Misbehaving app?

Screen Shot 2014-06-20 at 8.16.40 AM

Sometimes, apps misbehave. They might freeze. Or act wonky. 😯

If you are finding that an app on your iPhone or iPad isn’t working properly, try this easy fix:

Tap your home button to leave the app.

Double click your home button.

Put your finger on the troublesome app and slide UP. It disappears.

From Skitch-2

Tap the home button again.

Now re-open your app. It should now (hopefully) act properly.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

4 thoughts on “Misbehaving app?

  1. I recently learned this to make sure all my apps are closed (and not eating up my battery!!). The other possibility is to ‘reboot’/power off and bring it back up. Just like any other computer, there gets to be a ton of “stuff” going on that needs to be cleaned up by a shut-down.

    • Yes! I talked to a fellow at the Apple store once and he said that the most common complaint they get from people is that their phones are slowing down, and almost 100% of the time it’s because they haven’t done this housekeeping exercise of closing all those background apps. It’s a good habit to do that every once in a while. There’s an old blog post about it buried here, somewhere! 🙂

  2. This reminds me (somewhat) of giving the televisions of old a good whack when they misbehaved. At least that’s what my father did…!
    Hahaaa. I wonder if it really worked!?
    I’ll remember your suggestion, Kathy, should I find an app misbehaving.. 😀

I'd love to hear what you think!

