A Question for Readers …….

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 8.09.29 AMThis is the time of the year where my Kindle is always within reach. I take it everywhere.

I read a lot. My favorite kind of book is historical fiction, “Pillars of the Earth” being a great example. And if it is really good … I like it LONG (because I’m always sad when a great book comes to an end. 😦 )

I know a lot of the readers of this blog are also voracious readers.

Here’s a question that I saw on twitter the other day:

What was the LAST BOOK that you recommended to someone?

Hmmmm. Interesting question! Not any-old recommendation. Not your favorite book. But the LAST book that you recommended to someone.

My answer: The last book I recommended to someone was The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure. Set in France during the occupation, a reluctant architect designs intricate hiding places for Jewish citizens. It is a page-turner!

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 7.56.14 AM

How about you? What was the LAST BOOK that you recommended to someone?

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

27 thoughts on “A Question for Readers …….

  1. It’s funny, I was just looking up books to load onto my kindle and nothing really took my attention so I asked the universe/God/source to let me know what I should read next ~ voila! Your post arrives literally 10 minutes later! Thank you!
    As for a suggestion, I am reading All is Well Heal Your Body by Louise Hay and Mona Lisa Schultz. It’s the newest version of You Can Heal Your Life and well-worth it! ♥

  2. Good question, mine was 9 Lives by William dalrymple, an exploration of 9 lives in India, with a religious background to all th estories. fascinating and so far the feedback has been positive !

    • That sounds interesting. Much of the book I am reading now takes place in India and it has certainly piqued my interest. I looked on Amazon and I see many 5 star reviews for 9 Lives. I think I’d like to give it a try! Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. With all the stress of job hunting I was reading naughty, vapid books. Now that I am settled in a job I can step it up an work my brain cells again (I hope)…. I look forward to all the suggestions!!!!

  4. Pat says:

    Hi!

    Love your blog and I have learned so much from you. Thank you for all that you do.

    I also enjoy historical fiction. But the last book I recommended was fiction that dog lovers would enjoy. The book is “A Dog’s Purpose” by W. Bruce Cameron. Heart wrenching but so worth it.

    Enjoy!

    Pat Whelan

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi, Pat, and welcome!! I’m so glad you’re here! And I’m delighted that you recommended “A Dog’s Purpose”. I remember considering that book a while ago after I had heard great things. Somehow it slipped off my “to read” list ….. but now, thanks to you, it’s going right back on!! Thanks for that recommendation!! 🙂

  5. I’ve had the Paris Architect on my kindle for awhile w good intentions, now I’m even more hoping to get to it soon! my LAST recommend was “The Daring Ladies of Lowell” by Kate Alcott; your typical historical fiction but particularly of interest to me as I had read Gaskell’s North & South.

    • I hope you’ll enjoy the Paris Architect. And I’m happy to learn of “The Daring Ladies of Lowell”. I read another book by that author, “The Dressmaker”, and so I’ll be sure to put those Lowell Ladies on my “to read” list. Thank you!

  6. I adore the Pillars of the Earth particularly the backstory to how Ken came to write it which he wrote so eloquently about in his 10th year edition. If you haven’t read it, look it up, its on his site.

    • I will! I will! I love Pillars of the Earth. I think if I was forced to chose my all-time favorite book, that would be the one. I will absolutely look to read that backstory. Thank you!

  7. I will have to check it out, I also enjoyed the Pillars of the Earth, although not so much the sequel. The last book I recommended was Swamp Ghosts, a good old fashioned mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat and if you liked Marcia is planning to do a sequel so it will go on like a big novel!! 😉 I normally prefer historical fiction but like a good mystery now and then.

  8. Pingback: KINDLE BOOKS
  9. Linda B says:

    Thank you for your helpful insight and suggestions on “everyday technology”. Aside from my sister-in-law, you are the only blogger I follow. Now, I find that not only do you offer tech assistance, you offer help with book suggestions. I love reading on my iPad and have found it easier (and economical) to download books in English as I live in Switzerland. The last book I suggested to someone was Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner. Most of the members of my book group are not American, so it was my pleasure to recommend a great, modern American author.

    • Welcome!! I’m so glad you’re here … and I greatly appreciate your book suggestion. I have just added it to my “to read” list. Always delighted to hear about good books!! Thanks so much for your recommendation, (and for your kind words, as well). 🙂

  10. Mine is The Lost Fleet series by Jack Campbell. I’m furious with Tory Boy because he gave me the collection to read and I’ve done nothing since – I HAVE to finish them 🙂

    Easy reading science fiction but great fun.

I'd love to hear what you think!

