World Book Night, USA, is ………………………….. (cue tears) Ending

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 6.34.40 PM

Anyone who has followed my blog knows that I have been an enthusiastic supporter of World Book Night. Looking back through my posts, I had at least 7, gushing over the awesomeness of the project and encouraging folks to join me, leap in and pass out books.

Sadly, today when I looked at my email, there was a new one from the World Book Night Organization.

Bottom line: It’s over. Too costly.

After three years in which thousands and thousands of you distributed over a million and half specially-printed World Book Night paperbacks across America, we are sad to announce that we are suspending operations. The expenses of running World Book Night U.S., even given the significant financial and time commitment from publishers, writers, booksellers, librarians, printers, distributors, shippers–and you, our amazing givers!–are too high to sustain.

From World Book Night U.S. Board Chairman Michael Pietsch: “World Book Night’s first three years have been a profound experience for everyone involved. The altruistic spirit of the givers and of industry supporters have reminded us all of the transformative impact books have on people’s lives, and of the power of a book as a gift. The World Book Night Board joins me in extending their deep gratitude to all who have taken part.”

So that’s that.

No more World Book Night.

It was a marvelous experience, and I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to participate for all three years.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

9 thoughts on “World Book Night, USA, is ………………………….. (cue tears) Ending

  1. I was saddened to get this email as well. After you introduced me to the program here, I signed on and had the marvelous experience of being a giver for the last two years. Perhaps I will find a way to continue giving books in my small part of the world!

    • I know you were a great supporter!!! and I’m sure you were also surprised and saddened to get that email yesterday. But I love your positive attitude and “I’ll do it anyway” idea!

I'd love to hear what you think!

