New Survey: Cellphones ONLY for 2 out of 5 in the US

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 5.33.04 PMThe Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has been watching the evolution of cell phones vs landlines for the last several years in the US.

They recently released a new report which boils down to the news that 2 out of 5 homes in the US have ditched the landline and are cellphone only.

That’s twice what it was 5 years ago, but in spite of that, the trend seems to be slowing down.

You can read more about this report from several links I will put at the end of this post.

But …..

This made me wonder about those of us here in the blogosphere … worldwide, not just in the USA.

So let’s weigh in!

Here at my house, we have both. However, we don’t use the landline anymore. It’s there, and it collects all the telemarketer calls (and a lot of dust), but we don’t use it as our phone. I would dump it, but it comes “bundled” with cable TV service and internet, and basically costs nothing, so…… we keep it and let the answering machine pick up any stray calls that come through there.

My children, however, are all adults with homes of their own, and there are no landlines for them. Cell phones only in those households.

How about you? Are you a cell phone-only house?

Or do you have a cell-phone(s) AND a landline?

4 in 10 US Homes Are Cellphone Only, Skip Landline

Two in five U.S. homes have only cellphones: survey

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

26 thoughts on “New Survey: Cellphones ONLY for 2 out of 5 in the US

  1. Cell phones, only. I got tired of constant line trouble with my old phone. It never went longer than 6 months without the company having to send someone out to run new lines, swap out corroded something-or-others, or otherwise spend a day crawling around in my attic. Then I realized, who needs it? Neither Mark nor I used it, and like you, it was just collecting junk calls. Unlike you, however, it was a separate charge on our cable/tv bill, so I cut it. Been without a landline for 5 years now, and don’t miss it at all, even though, I will admit, I could hear better over it. (I’m hard of hearing, and cell phones are not as loud as I’d like them to be.) Still, I wouldn’t go back. So…I’ve weighed in. 😀 Cells, yes. Landlines, no.

    • Thanks for weighing in! 🙂 If my landline caused me all the troubles that yours did, I’d sever it, too. Or if it cost me money. And I agree …. you can’t hear quite as well with a cell phone.

  2. Interesting topic. We have both landline and cell phones but we only have the landline mainly because of my husband’s health – he has emphysema and has to use a nebulizer which needs electricity, so he is on an emergency list for assistance if our power goes off. Plus, like you, our landline also comes “bundled” with our internet and basically costs nothing.

    • Oh yes… of course that is a critical need for a landline. Now that you mention it, my mother-in-law was on a medic-alert kind of thing for a while, and a landline was imperative for that, too.

  3. Linda says:

    Landline + mobile phone. Using landline less and less. Mostly collects telemarketers as yours does, and I use to call USA as it has a better international rate.

    • Ah… interesting! I wonder if land-line companies are going to try to hold on to people by offering good international rates. I’ve seen that advertised, but I didn’t pay much attention since I didn’t need the service. I think you summed it up nicely for many … using the land line less and less. Thanks for joining the conversation! 🙂

  4. “Here at my house, we have both. However, we don’t use the landline anymore. It’s there, and it collects all the telemarketer calls (and a lot of dust), but we don’t use it as our phone. I would dump it, but it comes “bundled” with cable TV service and internet, and basically costs nothing, so…… we keep it and let the answering machine pick up any stray calls that come through there.”… Ditto with the exception that we don’t have a home phone at all just the landline for our bundled cable TV and internet. I don’t even know the number associated to our landline. We don’t miss it at all.. 😀

    • That’s funny that you don’t even know the number. I do use my landline number… a lot. When they ask for a phone number in stores, I always use that one (hoping to thwart telemarketers 🙂 ).

  5. I have a home phone which is part of my cable package. Only problem is when I lose my service, NO phone. Even so, will keep. Like having a kind of land line.

    • Yes! I know what you mean. Several years ago I switched my phone to be bundled with the cable service and was surprised to see it go out when the service goes out! No matter tho, since I don’t use it anyway. 🙂 Like you, I’ll keep it.

  6. We have both for the reasons you mentioned plus, our phone company is a coop and pays us usage dividends once each year which. helps to offset the yearly total immensely! Living in the country, we have learned that having a landline/phone that is owned by the phone company is necessary, especially if there’s a power outage……those phones always work!!!

  7. I will reply with something that may sound a little familiar:

    Here at my house, we have both. However, we don’t use the landline anymore. It’s there, and it collects all the telemarketer calls (and a lot of dust), but we don’t use it as our phone. I would dump it, but it comes “bundled” with cable TV service and internet, and basically costs nothing, so…… we keep it and let the answering machine pick up any stray calls that come through there.

    Sorry to c+p your text, but you said everything I was going to say and so much better… 🙂

  8. We have a landline, but it is through the internet rather than a phone company and the calls forward to a cell phone so we don’t actually have to answer it. Most of the calls that come through it we wouldn’t want to answer anyway, those annoying recorded calls that I’d just hang up on if I answered them anyway. (I figure if people can’t be bothered to call in person I can’t be bothered to listen and hang up the second I hear a recorded voice.)

    • Yes! I hate those robo-calls, too!! Geezzzzz. And now Dr offices also “remind” you of your upcoming ‘whatever’ with robo calls. Stressed and distraught awaiting a medical test and you hear a ROBOT voice reminding you of your appt??? I’d rather not be reminded.

      • I’d forgotten the doctor’s offices do that now. It’s usually politicians and surveys and other stuff most people would rather avoid. The medical conglomerate around here has the option of confirming the appointment by email to avoid the ever-annoying robo-call.

  9. We commute from two locations and have landlines in both places. In the valley we acquired a landline to save money on our Comcast bill. We don’t have a phone and don’t know our phone number. In our other location the landline offers me free long distance for returning work calls and conducting Web conferences where audio quality requires a telephone connection. This allows me to save on bandwidth and avoid giving out my personal cell phone number. Incoming calls are generally telemarketers, despite the fact that we are registered on the no call list.

    • Yes … our landline is bundled, also, but I think it is REALLY funny that you don’t have a phone or even know the number!! I actually use the landline number all the time when they ask for a number in stores. I don’t want random (telemarketer) calls coming into my cell phone. And, yes (again!) …. most incoming calls on the landline are calls I don’t want, anyway (that no call list doesn’t seem very effective, grrrrr). 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

