Learn a Language with Duolingo. FREE and FANTASTIC

Screen Shot 2014-07-14 at 8.50.01 AMI so admire those who can speak more than one language.

I can’t, and it’s something that I thoroughly regret.

If you are interested in learning a language …… or brushing up on your skills with a language you dabbled in while in school ….. stop reading my blog right now, and download Duolingo!

You can learn Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, and English.

It is FREE. No ads. And NO in-app purchases. Choose a language and GO. They give you lessons in little doses. I’ve been working through some lessons and yes, indeed, I am picking up bits and pieces. What an awesome little app!

If you have some background in a language, you can take a “placement” test. I did. But… as you can see, I didn’t do well.

IMG_0168

So I started at the best place to start. The beginning. And I am enjoying every bite-sized lesson.

Duolingo, for your iPhone or iPad, is FREE in the iTunes store.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

14 thoughts on “Learn a Language with Duolingo. FREE and FANTASTIC

  1. Sounds fantastic, and being able to access it at our own pace is a bonus…..I’ve always wanted to speak Italian, so I might give it a go! Out of curiosity, what language are you leaning?

    • My husband worked on his Italian and when we visited Italy a few years ago, he did well, buying us bus tickets, cappuccinos, and even asking directions in Italian. Me? I’d walk into a bakery and point, then hold up two fingers. I’m terrible at languages. For Duolingo, I’m working my way through German. My grandparents were from Germany, and someday I’d love to visit the two tiny villages where they grew up. I took German way back in high school, but that’s all gone :). And then there’s Spanish. My daughter-in-law is fluent, and my son is pretty darn good. That would probably be the most useful language for me, now, but I’ll fiddle with German in the hopes that we get to travel there (and Budapest!) sometime in the next few years. At least it’s a goal, and gives me a reason to try. 🙂

    • Spanish, yay! My daughter-in-law is fluent in Spain-spanish. I should probably spend time with that one, too. (I wonder if you can do more than one at the same time? <<< probably a bad idea, anyway. I can't learn ONE, let alone TWO! )

  2. I love this idea and I am going to do it when I am a little more awake this morning! I took two years of Latin in high school but I have always wanted to learn Spanish or Italian! I am curious too of your choice.. 😀

    • My husband did the Latin thing in high school, too, and when he tried to learn a little bit of Italian for a trip, he said that the Latin background was extremely helpful. I selected to try German. My grandparents were from Germany, and someday I’d love to visit the tiny villages where they grew up. A little knowledge of German for a trip like that wouldn’t hurt. 🙂

  3. You know that I forward all your posts to my sister who is legally blind and uses an iPad in order to enlarge things so she can better see whatever she’s doing. I’m so grateful for all your posts b/c I know they help her. Some of them help me, too, even though I don’t have an iPhone or an iPad.

    My question for you — especially since this is one app I would download immediately and begin using immediately. I took two years of German when I was in elementary school and later when I was blessed to get to go to Europe for Christmas I got to put into practical use the things I was able to remember. That was SO cool!! — why are these apps available in iTunes made for laptops? I have a Mac and I would think it would be just as easy to download it onto my laptop as it would an iPad or iPhone. This is something that confounds my reasoning every time I read one of your posts and would use many of the things you describe.

    Thank you!!!!!!!!! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

