Rumor? or Real? Amazon about to offer a New eBook Subscription Service

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 4.35.02 PM

The internet (the part that is interested in ebooks, anyway 🙂 ) is abuzz today with the most-likely-true rumor that Amazon is about to launch a new service.

This looks like it will be a new Netflix-ish subscription service with digital ebooks and audio books…… an “all you can eat” approach …. for $9.99 a month.

It isn’t available yet. As a matter of fact, it hasn’t even been confirmed, yet. But the stories about it are everywhere.

When (if) this launches, I’ll be sure to post the details. But in the meantime, here are some links to many of the stories flooding the internet, today:

Amazon Tests ‘Kindle Unlimited,’ A Netflix For Ebooks And Audiobooks

Amazon Appears to Be Testing All-You-Can-Read Kindle Ebook Subscriptions

Amazon’s Prepping a “Kindle Unlimited” Subscription Service For Books

Amazon is working on Kindle Unlimited, the ultimate subscription service for readers

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

6 thoughts on “Rumor? or Real? Amazon about to offer a New eBook Subscription Service

  1. I’m wondering how something like this will impact writers? It is so hard to make a profit on a book as it is, anything that might decrease sales worries me, instantly.

    • I read a bit about that, too. One of the articles was doing some guessing, and wondered if Amazon would pay the authors the same as they do for the prime library rentals …. from a “pool” of $. Then there was a bit more conjecture, like wondering how they would pay any big publishing houses who would require major money. Lots of questions, that’s for sure. 🙂

  2. I’d gladly pay for some kind of an unlimited subscription! I’d been wondering how long it would be before they offered and how affordable it would be. Of course, if I have to have a Kindle that might be a deal breaker. I really like my iPad.

    Nancy

    • Yes, Nancy, there are lots of questions to be answered. I’m guessing they might limit this to actual Kindle devices, but maybe not. And my biggest question will be ….. are they getting the big publishers on board? Without them, I don’t see much improvement over the current Prime library, except that you can borrow often. I’m sure we’ll learn more, soon! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

