Weekend Distraction: Word Solitaire

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 10.53.12 AM

Do you have a favorite chair? A favorite spot to curl up with a good book? I have an enclosed porch with lots and lots of windows, plants, and breezes, and a great big old comfy chair. In the summer I find myself spending probably too much a lot of time in that chair, curled up with a good book. And sometimes I put the Kindle down, and fire up the iPad for a leisurely game of ….. whatever strikes my fancy.

Recently I found a new goodie. A word game that is relaxing and fun. And free. Relaxing, fun and free. A trifecta! ๐Ÿ™‚

Word Solitaire is a klondike-type solitaire game. Each card has a letter, and it’s your job to move them under each other to form words-in-columns.

There is a delightfully clear tutorial for you to use when you first open the app, and I would suggest that you use it. Don’t skip it. Once you complete the tutorial, you’ll be good to go.

Here you can see one of my earliest (winning!) attempts. You turn over cards, just like in Klondike, and put them under other letters to make words.

photo.PNG-7

There are some expansion packs available to purchase if you want more more more.

It’s just challenging enough to keep you interested….

but relaxing enough for a lazy afternoon in that favorite chair of yours. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy!

Word Solitaire is free in the iTunes store for iPhone and iPad

also

Word Solitaire HD is free in the iTunes store for iPad, only

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

12 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Word Solitaire

  1. Glad to “see” you’re back!!!! I did finally download the Fb “Messenger” app. We’ll see. The privacy ‘thing’ does bother me a tad but have turned off location.

    • I know absolutely nothing about Facebook….. therefore I know nothing about the messenger app. BUT … I’m truly feeling like I’m standing in the dark outside of a great party, so it’s probably just a matter of time till I join Facebook (the last person in the universe to do so?) …. and when I do, you can tell me all about this app. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I have had fb since March and it still befuddles me. I just read about the Messenger app today, trying to understand it better. So when treadlemusic mentioned it I perked up.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think I want to mess with that app, it freaks me out a bit. But never say never… and yes there is a party going on in fb! It can be fun.. ๐Ÿ™‚ It can also drive you to distraction!

        • I’ve resisted for soooooo long. It sounds like you did, too. But you made the leap…. I just might be jumping in, too. Maybe. And when I do, I know where to turn for support! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You are a dear! Thank you so much for your wonderful nomination. I do appreciate it (and you!!!) Altho I no longer participate with awards, I am grateful for the consideration and thoughtfulness you have given me with this nomination. Thank you so much.
      (blushing with gratitude)
      ๐Ÿ™‚ Kathy

I'd love to hear what you think!

