Bold? Italics? Underline? Where are these hiding on my iPad or iPhone?

Over the last several years, “throwback Thursday” has become quite popular. Although it is really supposed to be about nostalgia (like old photos), I thought I’d stretch the point, and occasionally post an old (but updated!) “how to” on Thursdays, for the benefit of the many new-device-users who have joined our blog. (or to refresh the memories for those of us who forget!)

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 8.10.25 AM
Bold, Underline, Italics ….. you want to use them, but you can’t find them. Where are they hiding?

Here is how you find these options when you are typing on your iPad or iPhone:

Open a new email as though you are about to write a message.

Write a sample sentence for yourself. I’ll use this one: “Why do psychics ask your name?”

Touch the word “psychics” and you will see a magnifier pop up, and then a bar including the words “Select, and Select All. Touch the word “Select”.

From Skitch-15

The word “psychics” will turn blue and above it another bar appears. This time the bar includes the option “B-I-U” (bold, italics, underline). If you are looking at a smaller screen (the iPhone) you may have to touch an arrow on the side of the bar to extend it in order to see this option.

From Skitch-16

Tap the “BIU”, and your options of “Bold, Italics, and Underline” become clear. Tap on any of the three options and your word will now be cloaked in the emphasis of your choice. You can choose one, two or all three options.

From Skitch-17

This bar will remain on the screen until you dismiss it by tapping on a blank spot of the email to make it disappear.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

15 thoughts on “Bold? Italics? Underline? Where are these hiding on my iPad or iPhone?

  1. I don’t know what I would do w/o you!!!!!! Thanks a bunch!!!!!! Now, if you have some ideas on how to sync my “ToneSync” that’s downloaded on my Dell laptop with my iPhone so I could transfer the ringtones I’ve downloaded……I’ld be a “happy camper”!!!! The ‘puter and phone just won’t talk to each other!!!!! Ugh!

    • Sorry …. I’m useless for your tone-syncing. And I know how frustrating it is when stuff doesn’t work!!! I hope you get it resolved, so all can be well in the universe once again. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

