How to Narrow your Google Image Searches

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 7.54.12 PMI am always amazed at the power of Google. Type in almost anything and you have your answer in seconds.

I took an online course last year on Google searching. My purpose in taking the course was to experience an on-line course….NOT to learn how to search on Google. Oh, no. I thought I knew that. Silly, silly, me. There is SO much more to google searching than meets the eye. It is truly astounding. Much of what I learned I’ll never use, but some things are quite helpful. (Gradually I’ll include some of these things on this blog… like today. πŸ™‚ )

Almost anything you search for can be refined. Let’s look at a search for Astronauts.

If you google “astronauts,” and click on “Images”, you get a page that looks like this:

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 7.25.10 PM

Now click on “search tools.” A new row of options appear.

Select “type,” and a drop down menu unfolds.

Tap “faces,” and your images are suddenly limited to just the faces of astronauts.

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 7.24.55 PM

Perhaps you would like to see some clip art of astronauts?

Simply select “clip art,” and this is what you get:

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 7.24.34 PM

another choice is “line drawing”

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 7.40.36 PM

Narrowing your choices can save you a lot of time sorting through unwanted images.

Try it yourself with a search or two.

You’ll feel magically powerful in your image-searching ability. πŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

15 thoughts on “How to Narrow your Google Image Searches

    • and the “search tools” are just the tip of the iceberg! Another goodie in their “tools” is the time search. Especially helpful if you are looking for something current. You can sort to see only web-things from the last week or year, and leave out the old stuff. I use that tool a lot. πŸ™‚

  1. Reblogged this on Bookin' It and commented:
    Since I don’t have an Author Interview for Today, I thought I’d share some blog posts that have been interesting, helpful, or funny. I’ll reblog several during the day, starting with this one from one of my favorite How To blogs, Sharechair. Who knew?

I'd love to hear what you think!

