A New Word for you to Learn: Phablet

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 8.00.26 PMIf you haven’t heard it yet, you’ll hear it soon.

Phablet

Phablet – a phone that’s big enough to be (almost) considered a tablet.

Samsung has produced a phablet for years with it’s Galaxy Note. And do people like it? They seem to love it. So Apple is now jumping on that bandwagon with the iPhone 6 Plus.

iPhone 6 Plus = the newest phablet on the market.

There was a great review of the iPhone 6 Plus in the New York Times today. Written by a bona-fide big-phone hater, he talks about the time he spent with this new phablet, pros and cons.

I think he surprised himself.

He finds many pluses to make up for the lack of pocketability.

Read the whole article, here:

With Apple’s iPhone 6 Plus, Phablets Get Serious.

Now I’m starting to get excited to get my hands on one.

I’ll not be in line at the Apple stores on Friday (I’m not THAT crazy ambitious 🙂 )

But …

I placed my order! And I should get my iPhone 6 Plus (aka Phablet) in about 3 weeks.

If you are considering the iPhone 6 Plus, I would suggest you take a few minutes and read the NY Times review.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

24 thoughts on “A New Word for you to Learn: Phablet

    • I’m a great fence-sitter and really really cautious. I jumped off because, 1) I know that if I REALLY hate it right from the start, I can return it. And 2) ….. well…… uh….. I feel a bit of pressure to check it out for the sake of this blog. Happily, the article I linked to in this post makes me feel more confident about my choice. (so far)

      • I’m not sure about the new phones, but ios8 has messed with the photos in a way that I’m not happy with. What do you think? I haven’t download it yet, but my son did and I don’t like what I see. Unless we are doing something wrong (which is a possibility) you have to ❤️ photos individually to put them in your favorites, and you have to search through lots of collections to find a photo you could just scroll to find before. Am I making sense? I know what I mean, DUH, but am I clear? Ugh!

        • I’ve read today of lots of unhappy iOS8 downloaders. I’ll not be experiencing that, thank goodness. I don’t know about the picture stuff, but I’ll admit your report worries me. I know that Apple has been messing with photos. Apparently they are dumping Aperature (which they had heavily backed) on the Macbook. Just when you learn one thing and get comfortable with it…….. they whip it away. Let me know if your son figures it all out.

          • Ok. Here’s the thing. Your older photos get put into the collections folders that the iPhone creates and names for you. Lots of photos in lots of different places = many! many collections. If you want to find a particular photo and you don’t know what collection ‘they’ put it in, you have to look through all the collections folders til you find it. At least when it was all in one album, you had an idea where to scroll to find a photo – top, middle, or bottom of the camera roll. Now you have to go on a treasure hunt. Not a good thing. Ok. I won’t bug you about this again. 😱 Honestly not trying to be annoying. 😉

            • That sounds like a royal pain. I know EXACTLY what you mean about scrolling through the camera roll. I’m looking for a photo of x, I’ll remember “about” where it is according to time. I’ll see all my Cape May photos, for example, and know that my “x” picture would just be a little higher over that. Easy to find. This new way sounds not-as-easy. Sigh.

  1. Al says:

    I got the Galaxy Note 3 – which is still smaller than my daughter’s Huawei Ascend Mate. The Note 3 has a 5.7″ screen and the Mate has a 6.1″ It will be interesting to see how the iPhone+ comes out and whether or not Samsung will try to sue them like Apple sued Samsung for the shape.

      • Al says:

        I do like it. You need big pockets for them. At first I thought I had made a mistake going from the iPhone 4S to the Galaxy Note 3, but I love it. The screen size, the camera, the fact that it is a dual shot is awesome, the internal memory, the clarity, being able to read the kindle books, being able to use two hands, and there is the ability to swipe and shrink the window down to one handed. I couldn’t use a small phone again.

        • Oh, Al, now I’m all excited! You have me greatly looking forward to getting the new BIG aka HUGE phone. Thanks for your encouragement!! The idea of reading books on it was a big plus when making my choice. So glad to hear that you enjoy that, too. 🙂

  2. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    For sure a new word for me. Thank you for letting us know, now when I see the word I will know exactly what it is. I am just too old to carry around a phone too large for my pocket and has so many buttons my head spins. lol My son will probably run right out and purchase one of these though. Hugs

    • I know what you mean about the spinning head!! Mine is doing that a lot, lately. Especially when all the “new” stuff happens. I get comfy with the “old” stuff, and they whip it away! Always good to see you!

I'd love to hear what you think!

