You CAN wash and dry some wearable tech. But I wouldn’t do it on purpose.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 8.12.11 PMLife has been a little busy in my house these past few days. (The excitement involved an ambulance ride, emergency room care and considerable discomfort ….for my spouse. )

My end of the deal was to caretake and do all the things that are usually shared by two.
But as we all know, when you’re very busy, and distracted, mistakes happen.

My mistake?

I washed (and dried!) my Fitbit. argh.

A Fitbit is a delightful piece of wearable tech that keeps track of your steps for each day. It’s wonderful, motivating, and I use it every day.

But because I was distracted, I did not remove it from a pocket before I threw some laundry into the machine. So my Fitbit was washed. Then rinsed and spun.

And then, adding insult to injury, it went in the dryer. 😯

This morning I looked for my Fitbit and with a sudden shock I realized …… uh oh. Did I? (you know that feeling. A moment of weak-in-the-knees)

I went to the dryer and there it was. Nestled among the fluffy socks and warm towels was my Fitbit. I reached into the dryer, and pulled it out.

I expected to find a soggy mess, water inside the screen, and maybe a frozen display.

But nope.

It’s perfect!

It looks fine. Every screen is clear and sharp. It’s working perfectly.

wow. Washable tech. Who knew?

Have you ever had a similar accident? Or (gasp) washed your phone?

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

11 thoughts on “You CAN wash and dry some wearable tech. But I wouldn’t do it on purpose.

  1. Uh Oh. That sounds nerve wracking. I am waaaaay behind you in technology. (I still have a ‘dumb’ flip phone, no iPad/Pod/Phone, and certainly no wearable technology.) I will stay behind as long as I’m able.

  2. Linda says:

    This blog should be shared with Fitbit ! They’d love to know this story. Do wish your husband a full recovery, and you no more emergency level distractions!

    • Thank you for your kind wishes. He’s doing very well and recovering nicely. ( I actually looked at the Fitbit website to see if they talked about its indestructible nature ….. but I didn’t see anything. They should!)

I'd love to hear what you think!

