The Solarbox: Great idea! More, please!

London is full of iconic red telephone booths. Unfortunately, since the invention of mobile phones, most of the phone booths are now useless.

From SkitchHere is a photo of my hand, holding up the remnants of what used to be a real phone, and clearly over time it was duck-taped and mended …. but never actually repaired.

It didn’t work. Boat ride to Greenwich - 28 - Version 3

I never found a working phone inside a red phone booth (and I did look …. I was curious!).

and so ……

Enter the solarbox!

The solarbox is an old red phone booth with an upgrade. It is painted green and has solar panels on the roof.

Screen Shot 2014-10-03 at 6.17.18 PMStep into the solarbox and you can plug in your phone or tablet to get power. FREE power. You’ll have to watch a few ads for the privilege, but I think most people would agree that that’s ok. A fine trade-off. A few ads for a power-up. Yay!

The solar box webpage sums it up with a single sentence:
“Transforming disused telephone boxes into free solar powered charging points for phones”

The first solarbox just ‘went live’ a few days ago, with plans to add 5 more around the city by April 2015.

Congratulations to the solarbox designers. A clever, clever idea that I’m guessing will spread to other cities as well.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

11 thoughts on “The Solarbox: Great idea! More, please!

  1. Excellent idea. No matter where you go (except the bathroom maybe) you’re going to see advertisements. Might as well get something out of it for yourself while you’re being tortured by more buy Buy BUY! 😉

  2. What a great idea! But I don’t like that green paint…wouldn’t it be greener to leave them red?

    I love that someone from halfway across the world knows more about what’s going on in my country than I do 🙂

    • I have to agree with you about the green paint. And …… 5 green booths around London is fine, but the red boxes of your country are so iconic, I would hate to see them changed. I hope someone is considering the future of all the red ones. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

