Real Time Dictation in iOS8

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 7.47.05 AMThis was a pleasant surprise.

Before iOS8, I would dictate notes, emails and text messages, BUT this process often resulted in frustration for me.

I could dictate, but after every few sentences I would have to click on “done” in order for the dictation-gremlins to catch up. And then I would proof-read to fix errors. I used it, but it was buggy.

iOS8 has changed this …. significantly for the better.

Now, when you dictate, you will see your words appear as you speak them. Now you can speak your entire text, and not have to hit ‘done’ until you actually are (done!).

For those who are new to the iPhone/iPad, or for those who have never used dictation before, here is …..

How to dictate text in iOS 8:

Tap the spot where you plan to type (in notes, email, texts, etc) and a keyboard will appear.

Touch the microphone that is next to the space bar.

From Skitch-22

Start talking. Speak clearly and watch your words appear as you talk.

When you are done, (REALLY done) hit “done.” 🙂

REAL TIME!!!

MUCH better. I’ll now be doing a whole lot more talking-to-text rather than finger tapping the keyboard.
(however……. typing on the iPhone 6 Plus is a WHOLE lot easier with the bigger everything keyboard!)

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

4 thoughts on “Real Time Dictation in iOS8

  1. My phone doesn’t show me text as I dictate. I have to click done, when I can then see it (and make all the corrections…argh…it doesn’t understand Southernese) before hitting Send. I like this newer set up. One day…

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have an ipad2 and I have IOS8 installed on it,however the microphone symbol does NOT appear on my keyboard. Evidently the dictation is for IPADs that are newer than ipad2! Is that correct?

    • I do believe you are right. The dictation ability came AFTER the iPad2 and unfortunately the software alone is not enough to allow it to work. The same is true with Siri. Can’t get her with earlier devices, either. 😦

I'd love to hear what you think!

