How to Name that Tune with iOS8

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 7.32.44 AMI remember having great fun several years ago when my son introduced me to Shazam, an app that let’s you identify music that you hear playing. We sat there testing it with all sorts of tunes and found ourselves amazed at the capability of the (then) new and extraordinary app.

I never installed that app (it went from “free” to a pretty hefty charge) and I didn’t really see the need. It was fun, but not worth the $$$.

In iOS8, Apple has just given us that fun… for free!!

Siri has been been teamed up with Shazam and can now identify songs for you …….. and it’s pretty darn awesome I think. (I continue to be blown away with all the things that new tech can do.)

If you hear a song playing from ANY source (a cd, the radio, the television, a speaker in an elevator) just ask Siri: “What song is playing?”

Siri will ask to be left alone for a moment while she listens … and then she’ll name that tune.

Yesterday I spent a lot of time 😯 a little while testing Siri’s new abilities. (in my defense….it’s fun!)

I pulled up songs on my computer and asked Siri to identify the song. I was selecting pretty common stuff, so I decided to go deeper into my library. Trick her, I would!

I found a soundtrack from a very limited run Broadway show from 1962. I looked through the songs, and selected a random basically-unknown song. I was sure I got her on this. After all…an obscure song from an obscure show from 52 years ago? Ha!

“What song is playing?” I asked with devilish glee. Seconds later …… Siri named the tune AND the singer. Whoa!

I NEVER “got” her. She named the tune 100% of the time. Even classical music.

I can’t help it. I find this amazing.

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 3.23.36 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

2 thoughts on “How to Name that Tune with iOS8

  1. Puppy is either amazed or all ears. I don’t know whic. 😉
    I use SoundHound ( that dog would make a good icon for it! 😁). They show you the lyrics, who’s singing, and more. Also directs you to iTunes if you want to purchase. Also free. But I’m going to give Siri a try. Can you sing a tune and have her ID it? I’m pretty bad at singing, but that would be fun.

    • I don’t even have to try …. I’m sure that Siri couldn’t identify anything I sing. Of course, I’m quite sure that no human could identify anything I sing, either. 😯 I hope you and Siri do better.

I'd love to hear what you think!

