How to Send a Voice Message in iOS 8

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 6.11.49 AM iOS8 has brought lots of changes. Several of these changes improvements are to the Messages app.

We have already discussed the new answer-from-the-banner ability.

Another new feature is Voice-messaging to other iMessage users. In other words, this feature is an iOS to iOS ability only. If anyone learns that it works from iPhone to Android, please let me know.

Notice that next to the typing space, the “send” has been replaced by a little microphone.

From Skitch-28

Here is how to send a VOICE message in iOS8:

When you get ready to compose your message, instead of typing, put your finger on the microphone to the right of the message space.

As you press the icon (keep your finger on it) you can record your message.

When you are done, lift your finger up to listen to the recording. To send it, tap on the arrow. To delete it, tap on the X.

From Skitch-27

If you want to use this feature, I suggest you practice a little bit. It sends quickly and if you make an error, you can’t get it back…… so use with caution. 😯 πŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

17 thoughts on “How to Send a Voice Message in iOS 8

  1. Since I don’t have an iPad and haven’t installed the ios8, I don’t have first-hand experience with all this BUT many of my friends do and have installed it……….and are quite UNhappy with the results. They “needed” it to run apps but are having other difficulties with it. Just sayin’. Will wait on my installation a bit longer, I guess………………….

    • I feel the pain. Personally, I HATE updating anything. I live by the old wisdom “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” and so the updates really grate on me. I’d be happier in my rut. But … time marches on, and eventually we do the deed. I would be doing it MUCH more slowly …waiting and waiting …. except that I feel an obligation to do because of this blog. Pressure!
      But I can tell you, that once I stop blogging, my updating activity will be very s-l-o-w. πŸ™‚

  2. I going to give it a try. I’ve had a few issues with the update. But then this is life if you’re going to attach yourself to these things. I’m going to use Genevieve as my guinea pig. She’s my go to girl. Thanks for all your investigations into these things. If it wasn’t for all my friends and people that know more than me I would still be using the princess phone. 😁

  3. Al says:

    I will have a check to see if iOS8 is on my son’t 4S and give it a go to send to my phone if it is. If not, I will see about my sister’s 5S. Although her carrier is giving her so much trouble at the moment, she has asked them for a free upgrade to the 6 πŸ˜€

    • I believe I am correct about the iOS to iOS only. As a matter of fact, to my surprise, the microphone ONLY APPEARS in my text messages if the receiver has an iPhone! My son is an android guy, and the old “send” is there, instead of the microphone. His wife has an iPhone, and the microphone is available for texts to her. Interesting! (good luck to your son with his upgrade)

  4. I just tried the voice message and it worked perfectly. Thank you so much for your blog. I would never have the courage to try things without your clear instructions!

    • Thank you so much for these kind words!! Every once in a while, I think about stopping this blog, and then I receive a message like yours, and I’m all motivated all over again. Thank you so very much. πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

