Saving some memory in iOS 8

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.27.21 AMSaving memory is a big issue for some people, especially if you have a 16GB phone. Memory gets eaten up by all kinds of things.

One of those “things” is the collection of photo-messages, video-messages and voice messages that you acquire over time.

I never realized this until doing the research for this post, but apparently your messages are saved for… well….. forever. 😯 (that’s a long time!)
And if you get a lot of pictures, etc, via the messaging app, your memory could be taking a serious hit.

iOS8 gives us the opportunity to have a little control over that.

Here is how to make your own choice about message-saving:

Go to Settings > Messages

Slide down, and you will see a place for “message history.” The default is to keep messages FOREVER.

From Skitch

Tap on “forever” and you will be given two additional choices: 30 days or 1 year.

From Skitch

By nixing the “forever” choice, you’ll be saving memory that would otherwise be lost. Every little bit helps!

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

11 thoughts on “Saving some memory in iOS 8

    • I know! It’s crazy. I’m just trying to figure it all out, just like you. Please feel free to share stuff you learn!! I’m sure there is much you know that I don’t. It’s a big wacky (complicated) iPhone world out there!!!

  1. I FINALLY installed iOS8!!!! Googled it first to see what -/+ are there and didn’t really find any ‘-‘. Like the timer on the camera and the additions to the keyboard. Like the “Recents” display ‘buttons’, too. Since I still have a 5s, and no iPad, some of the things don’t really apply. Thanks for all the info you have posted here (especially the “evals” on various features, etc). Hugs………………..

    • ha ha!!!! I agree!!! After several days of looking for two things I had put away in “safe” places, I know that I could certainly use a bit (a LOT) of a memory boost!

I'd love to hear what you think!

