See what apps are draining your Battery Life in iOS8

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 7.15.22 PMI’ve been pretty happy with the battery life of my iPhone 6 Plus.

Although I keep the brightness turned down a bit, I’ve made no special adjustments other than that. I have bluetooth turned ON all the time (so when I get in the car it pairs up right away), and I keep wifi ON all the time, as well.

I usually plug my phone in each night, and start the day with 100% power.

I’m a text-er, not a talker, but I do have my phone working a LOT during the day, playing podcasts or audio books or music for long periods of time.

If you are finding that your battery is draining too quickly, you can now see which apps are doing the damage.

Here is how to check on your battery usage:

Go to Settings > General > Usage > Battery Usage

By tapping the tabs, you can see which apps have used the most battery power for the last 24 hours or for the last 7 days.

Here is a screenshot of my battery usage for the last 7 days. There is nothing surprising, and I’m not having any troubles, so the information is merely interesting to me.

BUT … if I was having a big battery drainage issue, this would be awesome information, because I could see the offending app and delete it.

FullSizeRender-5

This is a good thing to remember in case your battery starts to take a dive! Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 7.22.15 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

8 thoughts on “See what apps are draining your Battery Life in iOS8

  1. That IS awesome! Thanks!

    Like you, I had no surprises, but it sure would be a great way to see if something was draining the battery more than I expected.

    Nancy

    • That’s right. I remember a day when my 5 started dropping battery power rapidly. I could actually watch the number decreasing. It was so frustrating! Good to know that if that ever happens again, there is a way to find out “why”.

I'd love to hear what you think!

