No-Tech Tinsel

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 2.25.33 PMIf you’re looking for a technology related post today on this blog…. you’ll be disappointed.

I can’t resist linking to an article about TINSEL.

Why? you ask? (good question!)

Three reasons:

Reason number one: It is an interesting article about the history of Tinsel. For all of us of a certain age….. remember the beautiful stuff that hung from our trees back in the 50’s? It was heavy, and made the tree look just wonderful. But did you know that that tinsel of yesteryear was made of lead? I didn’t. Whodathunkit. LEAD!!!!

Reason number two: My dear talented daughter-in-law wrote the article. ๐Ÿ™‚

and

Reason number three: The article includes a photo of yours truly, back in 1950, eating said LEAD tinsel. Yum. It was delicious. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Enjoy!

What Is Tinsel Made Of, And How Has It Changed Over The Years?

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

26 thoughts on “No-Tech Tinsel

  1. Josephine Wolk says:

    Help! What does this mean and what should I do? I’ve been getting things from you for over a year with no problems.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Very interesting…….love the “throw-back” photo of you! Lead, huh? I do have to agree the new stuff is way too “floaty” and doesn’t have the reflectivity that we had with the “dangerous” stuff!!!! Great article, BTW!!!!!!

  3. I also enjoyed seeing the picture of you trying to eat the tinsel. While the lead wasn’t good, I think just like with the cats, getting it twisted in your gut is a bigger problem.

    On the other hand, think about all the things we did as kids and we didn’t die from it. Caution is good, but sometimes I think our society overdoes it.

    Nancy

  4. I miss the real thing too. I thought it was made totally of tin, kind of like a tin foil. That probably also had leqd in it. Oh, what we didn’t know in the old days! I don’t use tinsel anymore and haven’t for years. The plastic stuff just isn’t the same. Thanks for an interesting article.

    • I havenโ€™t used tinsel in years and years, either. Once I bought some, and it was light, and floated around (not heavy at all). Didnโ€™t like it, and I wondered why they didnโ€™t make the โ€œgood stuffโ€ anymore. I had no idea about the lead!

  5. Rogerv says:

    We had a revolving tree stand my dad made out of surplus Link Trainer parts in the late forties. It was quite a novelty and we were the envy of the neighborhood kids. My mother insisted that we put the tinsel on one strand at a time, as the tree slowly turned. Our cat ate the tinsel too, but I think she coughed it up. Nice article!

    • Wow… a revolving tree! Your dad must have been a neighborhood hero. I can picture the sight of the tree turning slowly, and the family placing the tinsel as it turned. What a wonderful story!!! Thanks for sharing this! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Interesting piece. I remember when we were kids we use to grab handfuls of it and throw it at the tree, while the adults did the one strand dance. Our way was quicker. The adults’ way was much prettier, but who wants to wait! There was (lead apparently) tinsel everywhere. Oh what fun! Happy Holidays, SC.

    • Those handful throws got clumpy! I think I must have been a bit OCD, because the clumping bothered me. But I was impatient, too ( a tough combination!), so I would grab a handful and try to slide it on a branch in straight bunches. Oh, the effort! And a wonder-land of lead.

      ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I can’t get the article to load… dang I am dying to see the picture of you! I had no idea tinsel was made of lead. We used a ton of it on the trees when I was little. I am going to keep trying to get the page to load.

I'd love to hear what you think!

