Serial is pretty darn addictive

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 8.32.16 AMI heard about Serial quite a while ago, but I didn’t listen on purpose.

Let me back up a bit.

Most people are familiar with This American Life. A spin-off of that series hit the airwaves last year, in the same general style, but with a twist: For the entire season, the show would tell only ONE story. Week by week. A serial. And so they named it… Serial.

I enjoy books in a series. It’s a happy day when book one concludes, but I can pick up the story with book two. Or three. Unless the author hasn’t written it, yet. Then, I’m frustrated.

And so, when Serial began, I decided to wait until I could binge-listen. Season One is now complete, and you can listen to all twelve episodes whenever it suits you.

Season One tells the story of a murder in Baltimore, Maryland, back in 1999. A high school student is found dead, and her ex-boyfriend is arrested for her murder. Did he do it? He says he is innocent.

Once I started listening, I was hooked. Whenever possible, I listened to Serial.

I listened to it as a Podcast which I downloaded to my iPhone. But there is also a website, which you can find, here: Serial Season One. You can listen through the website, as well, and there you can also find photographs and copies of the documents, etc, which are mentioned in the story.

Serial was so popular, so well received, that there will be a Season Two. Next time, I will listen as it airs, week by week. It’s too good to wait.

Serial, Season One

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

2 thoughts on “Serial is pretty darn addictive

I'd love to hear what you think!

