Weekend Distraction: Crosswords for your iPad and iPhone

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 7.42.38 PMIt’s looking as though this is going to be a snowy stay-in kind of weekend here in the Northeast US.

Snow + ice = slippery roads. No thank you.

It’s been a while since I looked through the App store for a new game.

But with the snowstorm looming, it seemed like a good time to find some kind of something to play with in between the many movies and oodles of comfort food that come together to make up a cozy stay-at-home snow day.

I didn’t have to browse the store for long. I downloaded Crosswords, and I’m not disappointed.

Basically, I am a Crossword-doer-Wannabe. I’m just not very good at them. But I’m always willing to try.

This Crosswords app is made by a company that has been producing crossword books for years (Dell Magazine and Penny Press). Now these are not New York Times quality puzzles, but for a Wannabe like me, this is all I can handle. 🙂

You get to download this app for free, and you get a nice bunch of puzzles for free, too. If, after completing them all, you want more, those are available through an in-app purchase system.

The board is large enough to easily see the squares and the clues. There is no learning curve. Just tap anywhere to type in your word. Or delete. It’s very intuitive …. you’ll be playing within minutes of downloading it.

This screen (from my iPad) shows you all the free puzzles you get with your download.

IMG_0004

And here is the game screen (also on the iPad). Easy-peasy to use.

IMG_0005

Crosswords is FREE in the iTunes store

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

5 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Crosswords for your iPad and iPhone

  1. I love doing crosswords so this will suit me.
    Your screen shot from your ipad shows only 12 games – is that all you get with the free version?

    • Yes…. I’m afraid that “free” only gives you this batch. 😦 (Enough to take me through a snowy weekend, tho!) If you are a crossword lover, i think you will probably find this to be too easy for you.

I'd love to hear what you think!

