How to View Movies on your iPad or iPhone OFFLINE, with Amazon Prime, for FREE

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.33.06 AMAnyone who travels has faced the situation. You want to load up your device with some content to watch while you are offline (not streaming). Anticipation of a long airplane ride will send most people to iTunes or Amazon with the intention of grabbing some movies or tv shows to help pass those long hours in flight.

Until now, your best option was to rent a movie (or tv show).

But recently Amazon has announced a new feature for its Amazon Prime members: Free offline watching of (some) videos. This is great news for travelers who subscribe to Amazon Prime. This feature had previously only been available for Amazon’s own Fire tablets, but now this is a new expansion to include iPhones and iPads. Yay!

Although Amazon has made it clear that this feature is not available for everything in their Prime library (I’m sure they have to pay for the right to do this) …… they claim that “thousands” of videos are available for off-line viewing.

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 8.55.19 AMSo, I decided to give it a try, since “easy” is not always easy for us un-techy folks. (Remember, you must be a Prime member to take advantage of this feature.)

Your first step will be to download Amazon’s free video app to your iPhone or iPad.

What follows here are several screen shots from my iPad as I downloaded a video to watch off-line.

After downloading the app, I was greeted with this screen, informing me of this new off-line watching feature.

IMG_0015

Opening the app, I tapped on several programs that were available free for Prime members. The first one I found that also offered the download option was “Curb your Enthusiasm”. Notice the download icon next to each episode.

IMG_0016

I tapped the download icon and the program started downloading immediately.

IMG_0017

After the file downloaded, I closed the app, and went off-line, putting my iPad into airport mode.

I went back to the app to see if I could watch the program. I wasn’t sure how to access it, but sometimes the ‘easiest’ way is the one that works. I simply went to the same screen where I did the downloading, and tapped on “play.”

Instantly, the show began, and played flawlessly, while my iPad was offline. Hurray!

Your movie or tv show will not stay on your device forever, it will “expire”. In this case, you can see that I was told that the program would be available offline for me for 48 hours.

IMG_0018 (1)

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

10 thoughts on “How to View Movies on your iPad or iPhone OFFLINE, with Amazon Prime, for FREE

    • I really like this new ability to watch things offline. If you know you are going to be sitting in a plane, or a bus or even a doctor’s office for a while, you can now “load up” some programming to take along.

      • Amazon prime has proven itself to be of top value for the customer. In the beginning it was all about finding a book no one else had and the store wanted to charge me for ordering. Now – whenever I want to buy something, first I check Amazon before going anywhere else. I hate grocery shopping and consider it a huge waste of time. They are perfect for everything that’s not absolutely fresh + organic and I can have that delivered by a co-op or one of the on line ‘plate’ stores.
        I usually take my work with me to my husband’s numerous doctor’s appointments but I think I see some entertainment coming my way.
        Question: How do I go straight to a specific movie or show I want to watch without flipping all over the place?

I'd love to hear what you think!

