No More Starbucks Lines?

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 8.13.41 PMI’ve had the Starbucks app on my iPhone for many months, now (maybe years? Time goes so fast!).

I don’t use Starbucks often, very seldom, really, but when I do, I use my Starbucks app to pay for my order. Before the app, I would have to hunt through my purse for a gift card which I usually had hanging about. But with the app, any received gift card just gets loaded into the app and gets used directly from my phone. (and I will admit that since I use Starbucks so rarely, I never remember exactly what to do. Kudos to the very harried but helpful baristas who always politely take my phone and hold it up to whatever machine works its magic and pays for my coffee.)

This week, Starbucks has updated their app. Apparently you can now ORDER and PAY IN ADVANCE directly from the app on your phone. This means that when you arrive at the store, your order should be waiting for you.

FullSizeRender

I may not be a Starbucks regular, but I love this idea. Each experience I have had at this store usually involved considerable time standing in Starbucks lines, and wouldn’t care to make that a regular occurrence.

So for city-dwellers or Starbucks regulars, this could be a real time saver. I’ll be interested to see how it works out in real life.

My understanding is that this is now available across the USA and also in many Starbucks stores in London.

Starbucks app is FREE in the iTunes store.

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

4 thoughts on “No More Starbucks Lines?

    • I do the same thing. Since I use Starbucks so rarely, I have already paid cash, even though there was $$ on my app! I try to remember, now. But I still have to ask the barista for help ….. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

