Turn off your iPhone Flashlight with One Tap

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 9.19.44 PMI really enjoy finding “new” things on my phone. Some things are worthless and silly, and some things are quite helpful. This action falls somewhere in between.

It is a shortcut-way to turn OFF the flashlight. But, let’s back up……

I use the flashlight on my iPhone a LOT.

I love having a flashlight in my pocket.

To refresh your memory, to turn on your flashlight, you just slide your finger up from the bottom of the screen. It doesn’t matter if you are on the home screen or lock screen. Just slide UP and you’ll have access to the flashlight. Tap the flashlight icon to turn the flashlight ON.

IMG_5857 (1)

To turn the flashlight off, again, you repeat. Bring up the control center and tap the flashlight OFF.

The new shortcut trick lets you turn off your flashlight with one tap instead of two. (Yes, there are those people who crave this kind of efficiency.) I’ll probably use this, myself.

How to turn off your flashlight with ONE tap:

When your flashlight is on, and you want to turn it off, just look down at the bottom of your lock screen to the CAMERA icon. Put your finger on it, and slide up. This action puts the camera on, and turns your flashlight off.

IMG_5856 (1)

Of course, now your phone is in camera-ready mode. Which would mean, if you are going to continue using your iPhone, you would have to go back to the home screen, anyway.

BUT … for me, (and I assume others as well), when I finish using my flashlight, I am usually in the middle of some sort of task (looking at the circuit breaker, finding something in the back of a closet, etc) and so I am NOT in a position to tap about my phone. This single tap-flip, will actually be a(n) (arguable) convenience.

In any case, useful or not, this just makes us a little smarter about our smart phone. 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

11 thoughts on “Turn off your iPhone Flashlight with One Tap

I'd love to hear what you think!

