Reminder: Occasionally Close your Apps …. Completely!

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 7.07.32 AMYou’d think that since I write this “tech” blog for us everyday folks that I would be a do-er of the things that I recommend.

You’d think that.

But I don’t. 😯

A great example happened this weekend, and when I was told to do this in a chat with tech support (for another device) …… I felt more than a little foolish.

Although this didn’t solve my problem, it was an action that I should have done before I contacted tech support. Actually I should do this regularly. As I have suggested that you do. But…. I forgot.

Argh.

So here’s OUR reminder:

Occasionally CLOSE all your apps on your iPhone. If you used them…. they are still running in the background. You need to shut them down.

To force-close your apps, double-click the home button.

The screen that appears after your double-click will show you your open apps. Move to the left and right to see all the open apps.

IMG_5872

To close each app, put your finger on its screenshot and flip it up. Whoosh! Gone.

Keep flipping. If you haven’t done this in a while (like me) you’ll probably have a bunch of open apps.

Doing this regularly will keep your iPhone running smoothly. (and prevent embarrassment when talking with a young tech-support helper) 🙄

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

12 thoughts on “Reminder: Occasionally Close your Apps …. Completely!

  1. Thanks for the reminder, SC. I think every app on my phone was running! 😯 BTW, if you have an older phone, the “flipping up” thing might not work. It doesn’t on mine. Instead, I have to hold down the icon on one of the open apps until I get a minus sign in the upper left corner of all of them. Then I can click on the minus sign to shut down the app. And voila. Phone runs better!

    • Yes, Marcia, you are right…. that method is several (4!) operating systems ago. iOS6 and earlier. New iPhones are now running iOS9 (although I am standing firmly among the non-updaters at this point). iOS7 and up all use this method.

  2. Thank you for the reminder. I had a lot of apps open and in the middle of your post followed your simple instructions and closed them all. You are one of my technology heroes!

I'd love to hear what you think!

