How to Permanently Delete Kindle Books from your Library

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 9.01.17 PMIf you are an enthusiastic ebook reader, you have probably developed quite a library. I know I have, with oodles of books in the Cloud, and a long line of unread books waiting for me on my Kindle.

I have so many that I feel the need to do a bit of pruning. I know there are thorns among the many roses. It’s time to let some of them go.

So …… let’s be CLEAR: When you have a book on your Kindle, and you “delete from the device” ….. , you still own the book. Even though it is no longer physically sitting on your Kindle, it is alive and well and resting in your Cloud Library, just waiting for you to download it to your device whenever you would like to read it.

What we are going to talk about now is a different action. A PERMANENT action. We are going to look at deleting a book from your Cloud Library forever. That’s forever.

If you do this, it will be gone. You will no longer own the book. If you want to read it again, you’ll have to buy it again. So before you do this ..be sure!

Here is how to PERMANENTLY delete a book from your Kindle Cloud Library:

Go to the Kindle books area on the Amazon website. Look along the top of your screen. Click on “Manage your Content and Devices”. (You can also access this area through “your account”.)

There will be several tabs, one for content, one for devices, and one for settings. Tap on Content.

Now you see a list of ALL the Kindle books you own. All your books in the Cloud AND all the books on your device are listed, here.

Once you have found a book that you want to delete permanently, click on the little box with dots to the left of the title.

Screen_Shot_2015-11-28_at_8_24_14_PM

Once you tap on those dots, a menu will appear. Click on “delete”.

Screen_Shot_2015-11-28_at_8_24_32_PM

Once you click on “delete”, you’ll be asked…. “are you SURE??” and if you are, go ahead and delete.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 8.32.38 PM

That’s it! That’s all there is to it.

Just make sure that you are paying attention as you do this, and only delete the books that you really want to toss from your library.

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

7 thoughts on “How to Permanently Delete Kindle Books from your Library

    • I’m afraid I suffered from the “kid in a candy shop” syndrome when I first got my Kindle, and couldn’t pass up a free book!!! I’ve done some deleting from those silly days, but I still have more work to do. 🙂

  1. Thanks so much. Deleting books has been a major challenge and frustration over the past couple of weeks. I thought I’d tapped everything there is to tap, but obviously I missed a couple. Now I know. (It’s not really a major frustration, of course, but when I find myself shouting at a little screen that doesn’t even have ears…)

    • You’ve obviously been peeking in my windows, watching me shout at the screen, myself! I feel the frustration. Fortunately, once I write it down, here, I can come and find it again once I forget. (which I WILL do 🙂 ) So glad this information helped you, too!

I'd love to hear what you think!

