iPhone 7 (coming in 2016) rumored to have NO earphone jack

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 7.37.35 PMTime goes so fast. (At least it feels like it)

Our gadgets keep changing. They are never “cooked.” They are never “done.”

Just when I get comfortable, the tech gadget world jumps forward another few steps. We have to keep moving along so we don’t fall too far behind. In my mind it’s like an old cartoon, where the poor mouse wants the cheese, but the cat has rigged that cheese on a string and keeps moving it JUST out of the mouse’s reach. With every step, the goal moves further away. 😯

A while back, we all had to adapt to the new lightning cord. There was lots of grumbling, because we all owned so many of the ‘old’ cords, which were quickly relegated to the garbage pile. That hurt.

Well, now, looking ahead at the iPhone 7 …… it is rumored that the earphone jack will be gone. This improvement will make the phone lighter and thinner. (Yay) But what about our earphones? (Boo)

Again, speaking RUMOR only, the thought is that Apple will be presenting us with new earphones, earphones that connect with a lightning jack instead of the standard earphone plug we are all so familiar with.

This begs the question: Will our favorite earphones be useless with the new phone? I hope not. I hope they at least make an adaptor…. of course, an adaptor means more $$, and I’m not happy about that…

And, if the earphone goes in the charging port, does that mean we can’t charge and listen-via-earphones at the same time? They would never do that, so….. Hmmmm…. could this mean wireless charging is on the horizon?

Rumors. Rumors.

I know. Change is good. But sometimes it just seems that it comes so fast

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

6 thoughts on “iPhone 7 (coming in 2016) rumored to have NO earphone jack

  1. If they take out the jack, I’ll definitely update all of my devices. I’ll be out of pocket and have more tablets than I know what to do with but, hey, Apple wants my money and I should just give it to them. Resistance is futile.

  2. Al says:

    Although I don’t use an iPhone, I hope these rumours are untrue, although knowing Apple, it wouldn’t surprise me. They already have their own style of charger. But being restricted to the type of headphones is just wrong.

  3. Daniela says:

    Change on steroids – that is our world and mostly to make more money!
    Hope you are well!
    By the way – I love Angela’s Ashes (just peeking in your ‘Goodreads’)
    Take Care!

I'd love to hear what you think!

