Amazon releases the Newest Kindle: Oasis

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 9.44.34 AM

This morning Amazon went “live” with it’s newest Kindle, available now to pre-order.

Improvements seem to be mostly the hardware: It’s thinner and lighter. It’s shaped differently, giving you a wider side on one edge to hold it. It comes WITH a cover, and that cover acts as an additional charging source for the Kindle, giving it the battery power of months (yes…months).

It’s pricey, and so it will be interesting to see if this model flies off the shelves ….

I’ve been reading on the Kindle Voyage, and it hasn’t been my happiest experience. The improvements on the new Oasis seem to have addressed the shortcomings of the Voyage. The price tag gives me pause, but I’m such a new-tech-stuff nerd ………. I just might……. (and if I do, I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂 )

Reviews are coming out, and they are looking good.

This short video, made by my favorite Kindle podcaster, Len Edgerly, examines the new Oasis.

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 2.23.26 PM

11 thoughts on “Amazon releases the Newest Kindle: Oasis

  1. Wow! Charge lasting months!! Cant even imagine it.

    I just got a Kindle paperwhite few months back. All Kindle model are exciting to me in its own way.

    Let me see, if in a few years the price goes down then I will buy it.

    • The price is astonishingly high, I think ….. but I agree with you: all Kindle models are exciting!! Each one has been special in it’s own way. And I love that they last forever. I’m still using a very early model in the bathtub!

  2. Oh wow! Not so much for the ‘Kindle’ for me personally, Kathy. But….
    My man and I were talking recently about how wonderful it will be when a simple ‘cover/charging source’ for our phones becomes available. This is looking very possible now! 🙂

    • Yes, Carolyn, a cover charging source! The future is closer than we think. 🙂 Actually my son has a special battery-pack kind of cover for his Samsung phone that extends his battery life by huge leaps. He is about to embark on a bike ride from Washington DC to Miami and obviously he will need his phone but be unplugged from any power source ….. he is depending on his cover-battery to take him far. (it does add a lot of bulk and weight, though) I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

  3. The self-charging cover could be a useful feature for traveling. I’m not likely to ever buy a new kindle though since I’m happy with the kindle app on the iphone and using the phone instead of a kindle means one less thing to pack.

I'd love to hear what you think!

