I Lost My Kindle ….. Now what?

Screen Shot 2016-05-22 at 11.15.35 AM Yes, I did. I lost it. The new one. The new, very expensive one. I have only had it a few weeks…… and yes, I’m so sad.

But this post is not about my stupidity or my angst (although I could rant about both!). This is to tell you about the experience I had with Amazon after losing the Kindle …..

My first thought (well, ALMOST my first thought, after a good hour or so of spouting un-repeatable words directed at myself and my carelessness) was to protect my account. After all, you can buy books directly from your Kindle by tapping on any book in the store. If someone had my Kindle, I worried that they could ring up some massive bills by downloading a boatload of books.

And so, once I could think rationally, again, I took several steps to protect myself. I hope you never need this information, but in case you also lose your Kindle some day,
here is what you should do:

First, go to your Amazon account, then drill down a bit. Go to “Manage Your Content and Devices” and then “Your Devices”.

Select your Kindle (If you have more than one registered, make sure you select the one that is missing.)

Click on that Kindle. You will then see an option to “deregister” that device. Go ahead and deregister it. Now it is no longer connected to Amazon, and no one can buy anything from it.

But you’re not done, yet.

You absolutely should call Amazon: 1 (888) 280-4331

I connected with a very nice fellow who kindly sympathized with me for a few minutes before getting down to the nitty gritty.

He told me that deregistering it was exactly the right thing to do (although he could have also handled that in the phone call).

Beyond the deregistering of the Kindle, Amazon then takes it a step further. He explained to me that because of my call, he would flag my Kindle. This means that if anyone “finds” my Kindle and tries to register it, they will be unable to. (YAY!) He said that Amazon will tell the person that this particular Kindle has been reported as lost or stolen, and, NOPE, it can NOT be registered. So the “new owner” of my Kindle will own a brick, not a reading device.

And finally, I asked that IF my Kindle is returned, would I be able to register it again, myself? They have that covered, too. He sent me an email while I was still on the phone, with confirmation that I’ve reported it missing, and with a number to use to re-register it if it is found, proving that I am the owner. Well done, Amazon.

I still can’t believe I was so careless…….. ARGH!

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 2.23.26 PM

46 thoughts on “I Lost My Kindle ….. Now what?

  1. Did they offer to sell you a new one at a discount? That’s what they did when I washed mine in the washer at the laundromat. It wasn’t much of a discount, but it eased the pain a little bit.

    • No, they didn’t suggest that. But with a waiting list for the Oasis, I’m not surprised. It is painful, isn’t it? And I pride myself on being so careful!!!

  2. That’s tough losing it, I can understand how you feel, but thanks for the head’s up on Amazon; hope I never have to use it.

  3. Aw, I’m so sorry to hear this, SC! Man, I panic when I can’t find my phone, my glasses, or my wallet. Maybe it will still turn up in some forgotten corner, somewhere. I hope so. In the meantime, I’m glad you were able to render it useless to anyone finding it, and I thank you for sharing that information with us. Hope you find it, or get a replacement, very soon. I don’t know how I’d get through the day without mine! (How quickly we become addicted to our devices!)

    • I’m still kicking myself. I am always SO careful about everything. I’m a “checker” …. over and over again. How I lost this, I’ll never know. Yes, indeed, this is painful to be without. I have an iPad, tho, so I can still read my books, but it’s NOT the same as my beloved Kindle!!! Love your new picture, BTW!!!

  4. Argh, sums it up, for sure, Kathy. This remind me! This morning I was looking for a pair of earrings. I couldn’t find them. I am such a creature of habit; you know – a place for everything and everything in its place… After returning from an appointment I suddenly remembered I’d had a weekend in Sydney recently, and saw, in my mind’s eye, the earrings in a travel case! Saved… πŸ˜‰
    No such luck for you, do you think? Well, if nothing else, we’ve all learned that Google is pretty good with its protective procedures… Though, I know it’s little compensation for your very new and wonderful Kindle…
    xoxoxo

    • Congrats on the recovery of your earrings!! Such relief when you find what is lost!
      Unfortunately, this stroke of luck can’t happen to me. You see, I lost it on a cruise ship. I’m home, now, and thoroughly unpacked. No Kindle. 😦
      However, I know that in the big picture of Life, this is just a little thing. I’ll order another, and move on!

  5. Oh my!!!! That is total tragedy!!!! Lost???? Really???? (although, sadly, my world does allow for those types of occurrences……………) Maybe it will “re-appear”!?!

    • I’m afraid it can’t reappear. I left it on a cruise ship (I am still kicking myself for being so careless!). I’ve called, and they said no one turned it in. Bummer.
      But, I am aware that in the circle of life this is just small potatoes as far as ‘things that can go wrong.’ No Kindle = all the more time to practice my new hobby of quilting! πŸ™‚

    • That would be wonderful. However I just heard from the lost and found and no one has turned it in. Still hopeful (although hope is fading fast…..) Thanks for your good wishes!

  6. Good to know. Kind of like canceling a credit card if you lose it,except people might not think of it for the kindle. In the meantime until you find your kindle or get a new one, the kindle app on the iphone works great. I actually haven’t touched my kindle since I found that app. One less thing to pack because I can just put the phone in airplane mode and use it for a kindle when I travel.

    • Yes, indeed. I can read on my Kindle app on my iPhone and iPad, but I just love having the gently lit Kindle to read with as I go to sleep. I just heard from Royal, and they said it was not turned in. Grrrrr………

      • At least you did contact Royal so you do have a chance of getting it back if it turns up. I have heard of people getting jewelry back 6 months later from the lost and found at corporate from whatever cruise line so you never know. I suppose a lost piece of jewelry is more likely to be unique and identifiable than a kindle though.

        • So true. Unfortunately it was SO new, there were no distinguishing marks or anything on it. But yes, Royal has been very helpful. They took all the information, and called back twice (not with good news, but I do appreciate being updated. πŸ™‚ )

  7. Thanks for posting this. My Fire was lost for about a week. I knew (almost certainly) it was in the back seat of a friend’s car, and it was, and I got it back. But I also knew (definitely) it might NOT be there–and it never occurred to me to notify Amazon in order to protect myself. I’m going to reblog.

  8. Wow, that could happen to anyone! I left my pencil bag with two checking accounts worth of check in it along with pencils and numerous other handy items in the restaurant 50 miles away last Thursday night. My hubby picked that up, and then the next day went to Staples 25 miles away and picked up my thumb drive with all my original photos from my Woodlake book on it. YIKES! Both were retrieved. I have hundreds more stories like that. Doesn’t make it any better, does it?

  9. Oh no! That’s the saddest thing I ever read.

    Not joking – I am never more than three feet from my Kindle at any given time.

    Thanks for the useful info; if the day ever comes when I – gasp! – lose my Kindle, I’ll be glad I saved this post.

    • I know! Same here … my Kindle is always within reach. I never ever EVER thought I could lose it. Amazon should drill a hole in the corner, and then I could (and would) keep it tethered to me somehow!

I'd love to hear what you think!

