Safe Zones for your Internet Transactions

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 7.32.18 PMSelling things on the internet can be rewarding and fun. That’s the good news. The bad news is that it can also be dangerous. There are many terrible stories of horrible things happening during Craigslist transactions, for example.

I’ve used Craigslist myself probably about a dozen times, and I’ll admit I was a wee bit uncomfortable about completing the deals. I sold an old set of outdoor furniture, a large couch and even a hot tub through online ads. All of these sales were big items and the exchange took place at my home (not advisable, but I couldn’t move any of it to a different location). Happily the people who came by were all delightful, friendly folks and everything went smoothly.

Selling on the internet is a wonderful way to clear out your closets and downsize your life. The BIG worry is where to meet these strangers to complete the transaction? There are many articles and lists on the internet describing all the things you can do to keep yourself safe. Suggestions include meeting in a public place, sharing the location with friends, etc. etc. ….

But here is some GREAT news:

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 7.41.13 PM Recently many local police stations are now setting up SAFE ZONE transaction areas to deal with this problem. These spots are usually close to a police station (possibly in the parking lot), and sometimes the spots are actually IN the police station, in an area set aside for this very purpose. Recently, my local newspaper alerted our community of a new ‘safe spot’ for Craigslist, etc, transactions right next to a police station. This spot is well marked, well lit and under video surveillance.

And so …… if you plan to sell through the internet, and complete your transaction in person, please call your local police station and ask if they provide this service. More and more communities are getting on board and setting up these safe areas. It’s such a wonderful idea!!! I think it might finally be time to get rid of all those old 60’s LPs cluttering my basement …… πŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 2.23.26 PM

13 thoughts on “Safe Zones for your Internet Transactions

  1. Interesting! I’ve bought off Craigslist once. I need a non-shedding dog due to my allergies, and bought our silky terrier from a young woman. We met at a local park mid-day on a weekend with lots of people around. Nice girl, great dog. All safe. If it was a diamond ring, I wouldn’t know where to go. Thanks for the idea to check around law enforcement.

    • Glad you had a good experience. I think I’d use Craigslist more with a safe place to complete the transaction. (I’m also allergic! I have a yorkshire terrier …. completely non-allergenic, too!)

  2. What a fantastic opportunity provided by the Police Force! I’ve haven’t sold anything on-line, though have bought a number of small items (that have been posted).
    I doubt that I’d feel safe enough to have ‘buyers’ come to my home. In fact, Kathy, I definitely would not. Here’s hoping our Australian Law Enforcers follow the lead; I’m slightly in awe, and highly impressed… It is such a ‘civil’ thing to do!

    • I admit to being nervous about the home-thing. But there was no other way to sell a hot-tub! These safe-zones are such a wonderful idea. Whoever thought of it deserves a gold star! πŸ™‚

    • I understand what you mean about being nervous. I jumped into eBay back in late 90’s when it just started. It was a different animal back then. Just people selling to people. Now most sellers seem to do it as a business, it’s just not the same. I’ve also bought from Etsy …. I enjoy that site. Craigslist has always been my nervous one, but considering I sold a hot tub through it within hours, I am a cautious fan. So I am delighted to learn about these safe zones. πŸ™‚

  3. What a great idea! Eventually, if everyone takes up the idea, people might be wary of using such sites to sell stolen goods – not a great idea to complete the transaction near a police station πŸ™‚

    • So true!!! “sell stolen goods” reminds me of my missing Kindle. I’ve been checking eBay to see if someone listed it for sale (although I don’t know what I’d do if I saw it 😯 ). With these new safe zones, I think I’ll start digging through my closets. Clean out and make some $, too!

I'd love to hear what you think!

