A Cyborg isn’t just a Star Trek thing, anymore!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.47.37 AMWhen I hear the word “cyborg” ….. I tend to think of Star Trek and that group of nasties, The Borg, that kidnapped and assimilated the Captain. Those were scary episodes!

But to my surprise, the future is now, and the whole cyborg thing is actually not scary at all, but a marvelous, wondrous leap into new frontiers right here on earth.

A cyborg, defined by Dictionary.com, is a person whose physiological functioning is aided by or dependent upon a mechanical or electronic device.

And they do exist. Take a look at this video. At first I thought (unkindly) that this was a wacky fellow, but after watching the whole video …. well, technology is allowing him to experience the world with senses that he lacks. Amazing!

I don’t know that I would want to go to this extreme, but I don’t walk in his shoes, so I don’t really know.

And this kind of technology is being tapped for all kinds of things. I came across this article about Cyborg Locusts. Scientists might be able to use them to sniff out bombs. What a world we live in!

Cyborg locusts with tattooed wings can sniff out bombs

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 2.23.26 PM

2 thoughts on “A Cyborg isn’t just a Star Trek thing, anymore!

  1. Yes, Kathy; as you say it is a little confronting; though, I see no reason why this technology won’t be an accepted part of a future world…
    Amazing! 🙂
    xoxoxo

I'd love to hear what you think!

