A Useful Tool to Help You Choose Your Next Great Read

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 7.24.14 PMAs much as I love to read, I must admit that I hate the feeling that I get when I FINISH a great book. It’s kind of sad to close the cover on characters you love (or hate), and a plot that kept you thoroughly engaged. The book ends, and the hunt begins. The hunt for that NEXT great book…….

I usually get my next book from one of several sources: a friend’s recommendation, a Goodreads bookshelf that matches my interests, or any one of the books that are “waiting” for me on my own Kindle bookshelf.

I recently discovered ANOTHER source, a website that lists books for you that are similar to the one you love!

As soon as I stumbled upon this site, I typed in some book names to see what kinds of suggestions it offered.

I was pleased with the results.
For example, I entered “Pillars of the Earth” and was delighted to see a list of books generated within seconds. Happily I can report that there were several books included in that list that I have already read and can absolutely agree that they belong there as suggestions for similar books. There were others listed that I haven’t read, and so, ( 🙂 happy time! 🙂 ) I now have more books to explore.

If you are a reader, I think you’ll enjoy giving this a try:
(you don’t have to register or sign in to type in the title of a book and get a list of ‘similars’)

WHAT SHOULD I READ NEXT?

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

13 thoughts on “A Useful Tool to Help You Choose Your Next Great Read

    • You’re right … sometimes I get thoroughly lost on those Goodreads bookshelves. I just go deeper and deeper, jumping from this to that …. and soon I don’t even remember what I was looking for!

  1. I gave it a spin, and I have to say that my reading taste is apparently pretty obscure. I tried several books before I could get any response. The app didn’t recognize the books/authors that I’d read and really liked. I finally found something more mainstream and got a long list of suggestions. Probably a better app for normal people.

  2. Thanks for the tip! I’ll give it a try.

    Do you use BookBub? Loads of free or cheap books there; I’ve found some wonderful series and authors.

    I simultaneously love and hate finishing a good book: satisfied with the conclusion but upset to leave that world behind. People don’t say it but reading is like drug addiction – sweet oblivion that makes you high and leaves you crashing when the drugbook runs out.

I'd love to hear what you think!

